We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel right downtown” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 43

Save Saved
You added Hotel 43 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel 43
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   981 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702-7036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 56 hotels in Boise
Richland, Washington
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel right downtown”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The hotel 43 is quiet, convenient and right in downtown boise... Walkable to all the downtown stores and venues. Our room was clean and overlooked the city and the beautiful lights at night. The bed was comfy and the robes in the room were appreciated. I will say that the rather blatant number of things for sale in the room was a little off putting ... You can buy this robe, this stuffed bear, this deck set or cd... I wasn't a big fan of that! But all in all a lovely place to stay!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    72
    70
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
63
5
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed here August 18 and 19, and we were impressed. To start, I have stayed in a number of "trendy" boutique hotels and found service to be somewhat cold and aloof; staff at the Hotel 43 greeted us very warmly and kindly like old friends. When you get into town after a seven-hour drive, that's important. The rooms are on the smaller side, but not too small, clean and attractively decorated. Most importantly to us, the hotel is within easy walking distance to nearly any downtown location.
After one night in the bed, we didn't want to leave. The mattresses are probably the best we have ever slept on. I dozed right off and even after I woke up, I didn't leave the bed for quite some time. Simply fantastic.
The staff showed their dedication to service again the next morning when I discovered my car had a flat tire. The front-desk person spent a good fifteen minutes googling and talking to other staff members to help me find a shop to repair my flat that was open on Sundays, and helped me find the nearest service station with air so I could get to the tire shop.
Overall, we were extremely pleased with the hotel, and would definitely stay again should we visit Boise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice downtown hotel. Clean, comfortable room, very nice staff and within walking distance to just about everything downtown. Would we stay here again--not sure. We'd probably check out other hotels just because if we don't absolutely love a place, we keep checking out other places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were made welcome by the staff as everyone was smiling and helpful. Gave us a goodie bag and bottles of water at the desk. Room was good sized, comfy bed, clean. Clean bathroom. Not fancy but, just right. Good restaurant/bar. I'd recommend to anyone who doesn't need a big hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

4th visit to Hotel 43 and have not been disappointed yet. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean Bathrooms are a little small but quite functional Beds are comfortable. Easy access to downtown and surrounding area. Staying here again on next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I really enjoy Hotel43. It is downtown so most of the good restaurants in Boise are within walking distance. One of the city's best restaurants, Chandler's, is attached. (definitely the best bar) The staff are always attentive, helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, quiet, attractive and the beds are comfortable. One thing that irritates me on occasion is that the rates can be highly variable. I guess that is business and it is hard to blame them if they raise the rates when there is a big event in town. Normally the rates are very reasonable especially given the convenience of the location. It is only 15 minutes to the airport and you are, as I said before, in the middle of the downtown,.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and are quiet, then ask to be on the floor with the airline crews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

located downtown within easy walking distance of the capitol, shopping, restaurants, greenway, museums - Hotel 43 is a wonderful place to stay. this is a nice botique hotel that has a different feel than the typical chain hotel. the staff is efficient and very friendly. the rooms are very clean, comfortable, and quiet. the appointments are somewhat modern. bathroom is smallish but had plenty of counter space and the shower head provided a great shower. attached to the hotel is chandler's restaurant. with a great bar, this is one of the best restaurants in boise. valet service is quick and inexpensive. hotel has an agreement with the nearby YMCA to allow guests to use its facilities - easy walking distance, great facility with plenty of classes (this has become one of my wife's favorite places to go when we visit). the only knock i had was the bed was a bit soft - but no so much that it hindered my ability to sleep. highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 43

Also Known As:
43 Hotel Boise
Address: 981 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702-7036
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 43 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 43 conveniently located in the heart of downtown Boise is perfect for the business and leisure traveler. Each of our 112 guestrooms feature upscale furnishings and amenities reflecting our dedication to superior service and facilities. The hotel features panoramic views of downtown Boise and the Boise valley. Complimentary airport shuttle service is available for our guests convenience.Step outside our door and you are surrounded by beautiful Downtown Boise. Enjoy a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance such as PF Changs. Walk to the BoDo District/ the newest entertainment and shopping area downtown. Along the way you will find many delightful boutiques/ gift shops/ salons/ day spas/ jewelry stores/ art galleries and the State Capitol to explore. Visit the popular cultural attractions including the popular Basque District and Grove Street Illuminated public art display. Entertainment is abundant with the Egyptian, Edwards and Flicks theaters/ the Quest Arena and the Knitting Factory Concert House. Take a relaxing stroll on the Boise River Green Belt and visit several city parks or the one of a kind Anne Frank Human Rights Memorial. Business travelers will appreciate the convenient location to the Boise Convention Centre/ corporate headquarters and banking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hotel 43 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 43, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.