We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice downtown hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 43

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 43 to your Saves list
Hotel 43
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   981 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702-7036   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 55 Hotels in Boise
California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice downtown hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Very nice downtown hotel. Clean, comfortable room, very nice staff and within walking distance to just about everything downtown. Would we stay here again--not sure. We'd probably check out other hotels just because if we don't absolutely love a place, we keep checking out other places.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    79
    20
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
78
7
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were made welcome by the staff as everyone was smiling and helpful. Gave us a goodie bag and bottles of water at the desk. Room was good sized, comfy bed, clean. Clean bathroom. Not fancy but, just right. Good restaurant/bar. I'd recommend to anyone who doesn't need a big hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocky River, Ohio
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

4th visit to Hotel 43 and have not been disappointed yet. Staff is friendly and helpful. Rooms are clean Bathrooms are a little small but quite functional Beds are comfortable. Easy access to downtown and surrounding area. Staying here again on next trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun Valley, Idaho
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

I really enjoy Hotel43. It is downtown so most of the good restaurants in Boise are within walking distance. One of the city's best restaurants, Chandler's, is attached. (definitely the best bar) The staff are always attentive, helpful and friendly. The rooms are clean, quiet, attractive and the beds are comfortable. One thing that irritates me on occasion is that the rates can be highly variable. I guess that is business and it is hard to blame them if they raise the rates when there is a big event in town. Normally the rates are very reasonable especially given the convenience of the location. It is only 15 minutes to the airport and you are, as I said before, in the middle of the downtown,.

Room Tip: If you want quiet and are quiet, then ask to be on the floor with the airline crews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
121 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

located downtown within easy walking distance of the capitol, shopping, restaurants, greenway, museums - Hotel 43 is a wonderful place to stay. this is a nice botique hotel that has a different feel than the typical chain hotel. the staff is efficient and very friendly. the rooms are very clean, comfortable, and quiet. the appointments are somewhat modern. bathroom is smallish but had plenty of counter space and the shower head provided a great shower. attached to the hotel is chandler's restaurant. with a great bar, this is one of the best restaurants in boise. valet service is quick and inexpensive. hotel has an agreement with the nearby YMCA to allow guests to use its facilities - easy walking distance, great facility with plenty of classes (this has become one of my wife's favorite places to go when we visit). the only knock i had was the bed was a bit soft - but no so much that it hindered my ability to sleep. highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Are you the kind of person who doesn’t want to touch the bedspread in your hotel room? I’m that person, I admit it. If you’re that person, I have a hotel room for you where you would feel comfortable lying naked, right on top of the bed. It’s so clean, it’s pure.

Hotel 43 in Boise Idaho has PURE rooms - for those with sensitivities to airborne particles, or funky bedspreads. PURE rooms are treated with a cutting edge process that cleans the air and the surfaces. There is even an air purifier in the room. Maybe it’s psychological, but I felt very calm in this room. Yes, I sat down on the bed naked. But it must be said that the bed didn’t really have a bedspread on it. Rather, it was a throw over the sheets. Yes, I did move it aside before I sat. I’m working on it.

The room is contemporary and furnished with red accents. Nice lamp. The sophisticated feel of the style made me feel like I was in a bigger city when we stayed here -- but then I looked out the window and there was small city Boise. The Capitol Building, just down the block.

The added benefit to Hotel 43 is that it has the best restaurant in Boise inside the hotel. Chandler’s Steakhouse has one of the only reliably great menus in town. Every time I’ve eaten there, my meal has been great. Whether it’s steak or scallops or the beautiful Ceasar salad.

And the bar is especially elegant, very big city, very grown up. I usually order a gimlet with Koenig (Idaho) vodka. You can’t go wrong with a gimlet at Chandler’s. And they have live music, usually jazz, that makes the place really swell.

For pictures and more of My reviews, go to bit.ly/QbtGBX at TravelingMom.com.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed here on a business trip. Good location and very quiet. Internet access is included as it should be. Room was nicely appointed and everything was clean and well kept. Staff was friendly and accomodating. Closet configuration is a bit strange as it faces the bathroom sink so when the closet doors are open accessing the sink and walking into the shower area can be a bit tight. The lighting in the sink and shower area could use a bit of a boost, but that is really the only improvement I can think of at this time. Hotel is walking distance to a number of restaurants in the area so it has a great convenience factor. The restaurant in the hotel Chandlers has live jazz every night so it's very convenient to take a quick break in the evening. I enjoyed my stay here and will come back on my next trip.

Room Tip: If you are going to hang out in the main downtown area you may not even need a car here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 43? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 43

Address: 981 Grove Street, Boise, ID 83702-7036
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Boise
#17 Romantic Hotel in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 43 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 43 conveniently located in the heart of downtown Boise is perfect for the business and leisure traveler. Each of our 112 guestrooms feature upscale furnishings and amenities reflecting our dedication to superior service and facilities. The hotel features panoramic views of downtown Boise and the Boise valley. Complimentary airport shuttle service is available for our guests convenience.Step outside our door and you are surrounded by beautiful Downtown Boise. Enjoy a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance such as PF Changs. Walk to the BoDo District/ the newest entertainment and shopping area downtown. Along the way you will find many delightful boutiques/ gift shops/ salons/ day spas/ jewelry stores/ art galleries and the State Capitol to explore. Visit the popular cultural attractions including the popular Basque District and Grove Street Illuminated public art display. Entertainment is abundant with the Egyptian, Edwards and Flicks theaters/ the Quest Arena and the Knitting Factory Concert House. Take a relaxing stroll on the Boise River Green Belt and visit several city parks or the one of a kind Anne Frank Human Rights Memorial. Business travelers will appreciate the convenient location to the Boise Convention Centre/ corporate headquarters and banking services. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 43 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
43 Hotel Boise

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 43, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.