We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A highlight of visiting Boise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boise River Greenbelt

Boise River Greenbelt
Boise, ID 83706
208-608-7600
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 65 Attractions in Boise
Type: Jogging Paths/ Tracks, Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Parks, Biking Trails, Trails, Bodies of Water, Outdoors
Activities: Biking, Hiking, Jogging
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Flows through Boise and provides more than 25 miles of scenic paths for biking, hiking and jogging.
California
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A highlight of visiting Boise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

It was a brief walk from our downtown Boise hotel to the river greenbelt. What a pleasant pathway for walkers and bikers along the riverside trail. The greenbelt near the downtown area is bordered by parks and shady trees. It is a Boise gem.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

399 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    338
    55
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for walking or biking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

There were six of us who visited the greenbelt. We parked at Veterans' Memorial Parkway at State Street and walked to the recreation area (30th Street) that was under construction. There the river has been dammed up to create rapids for kayakers to practice in. It was a lovely morning for a walk and we were able to watch a man practice with his kayak. Thoroughly enjoyable.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never Seen Anything Like It!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The greenbelt was one of our favorite places in Boise. Living in So Cal, we have never seen anything like it. Geese in the parks, well maintained spacious trails, the most beautiful river!! We didn't have enough time to raft down the river, but the people who were seemed to be having a blast. We were so impressed by all the people with families, women jogging alone, and lack of bums. That might sound strange, but remember I said we're from So Cal :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“The Boise River Greenbelt.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

The Greenbelt is one of the coolest things to do in Boise, not that there isn't other cool things to do here, but the Greenbelt is just so convenient. There are several 'entrance' points scattered around the area, where you can park your vehicle. It runs through some extremely beautiful places in the Boise and surrounding area. It's very well maintained and it's pretty safe.

There's a great mix of bikers, walkers, and hikers at any given time, but its a nice and quiet experience. You can enjoy a breathtaking walk along the river alone, or invite a friend and just go at your leisure. There's no real requirement, so you don't have worry about going to fast or slow.

It's also very kid friendly. I see children out with their parents all the time, whether it's biking on a trike or smaller one's being pulled behind on a three wheeled trailer. All in all, it's a great family activity, just make sure to bring lots of water and keep hydrated.

Most of it is located in relatively local and inhabited areas, though at times it can wander off into a more isolated location. I'd advise to bring a friend if you intend to go into those areas, but again, it's pretty safe. We don't really have any predators that are looming around, waiting to snatch someone up. I've even walked it alone at night several times and it's just so peaceful.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho, United States
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Boise Greenbelt is a true gem. Walking, biking, running, rollerblading...however you do it, it is beautiful, relaxing and a great way to enjoy some time in Boise. I frequently ride my bike to work and use the Greenbelt to get around. I will go grab some lunch and go sit by the river bank - best spot in town for lunch!! You can literally ride for miles - it is a true treasure and one of the best things about living in Boise.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boise River Greenbelt also viewed

 

Been to Boise River Greenbelt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boise River Greenbelt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.