We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of World Center For Birds of Prey

World Center For Birds of Prey
5668 West Flying Hawk Lane, Boise, ID 83709
208 362 8687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 123 things to do in Boise
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Birdwatching
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Experience birds of prey eye-to-eye and explore the mysteries of their flight, survival, and relationship with humans. Live bird demonstrations and falconry heritage tours complement hands-on exhibits for all ages. Enjoy panoramic views of the Treasure Valley from the interpretive trail and gazebo, or browse the gift shop. Admissions and purchases support conservation programs worldwide.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Small but great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

There are not a lot of birds here but the ones they have are magnificent and you get a better look than you do at most zoos. And a few of the giant eagles like the Harpy Eagle and Bateleur Eagle I have never seen at a zoo. I only spent an hour but it was totally worth $7.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    46
    11
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
224 reviews 224 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“An Interesting and Educational Boise Attraction”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

On an isolated hilltop overlooking the Boise valley is the World Center for Birds of Prey. We went there last week and got a tour with a knowledgeable docent. While not very large, the exhibit houses some beautiful specimens which appear to be very well cared for. Our American bald eagle is a beauty, and the condor enclosure is quite impressive. The tour was worthwhile and all the visitors' questions were answered. This tour included an informative video about efforts to save the California condor. The tour continued to an adjacent building that is a library and museum of falconry. We didn't find this part too interesting. If you plan to visit, try to go when they give live demonstrations of flying some of the birds. I believe this is on the weekends. We missed it, unfortunately, but we would recommend this to anyone interested in wildlife.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BoiseRaptor, Education Programs Coordinator at World Center For Birds of Prey, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Hello,

Thank you for your support and positive review. Just to clarify, the outdoor flight demonstrations only take place Thursday-Sunday at 1:30 in the month of October. Please come on back next year if you wish to see the show! Or feel free to visit all year round with a membership.

We sincerely appreciate your visit and enthusiasm.

The World Center for Birds of Prey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Incredible flight exhibition by falconers!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Every October, Birds of Prey in Boise puts on a live exhibition of the impressive flying skills of falcons, hawks, and owls in their new outdoor amphitheater. These awesome birds fly on the command of their falconers and just soar in the air magnificently. Adjectives just can't describe these birds which sing to the soul! This is a working attraction in that they are actively training, rescuing, and breeding birds of prey worldwide. The Peregrine Fund supports the facility. There are many new exhibits and buildings. One of the most magnificent is the new specially designed exhibit of the California Condor. Ongoing research and breeding have brought these exceptional birds back from a count of just 22 to more than 400, which are being released in selected areas of the world. If in Boise, this is definitely THE place to see! We loved it so much that we bought memberships and intend to support their efforts.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasselt, Belgium
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Impressive falconry exhibits!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We especially enjoyed the moments a certain bird was taken from its cage and more information was given by a volunteer. We learned a lot on birds of prey.
We were also really impressed by all the information and objects on display on falconry. Just incredible!
Don’t miss this center if you get to Boise.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, AZ
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“A must visit while in Boise, ID”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I love to see birds up close and this is the place to do it. The information is excellant and very informative. The Center is on a hill with great scenery. Also, the birds are interesting to see up close. I would return when I am in Boise again. The museum has a great "hands on" display that even adults will enjoy.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed World Center For Birds of Prey also viewed

 

Been to World Center For Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage World Center For Birds of Prey, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.