We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Boise Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Boise Guest House to your Saves list
Boise Guest House
2.5 of 5 Guest house   |   614 N 5th Street, Boise, ID 83702   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 12 Boise B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

I was extremely pleased with my stay at the Boise Guest House. I travel to Boise for work and nothing is worse than going to a cookie cutter hotel room. At the Boise Guest House, I felt like I was going to my own apartment. The Treetop Suite was perfect - comfortable bed, nice bathroom, kitchenette, living room and a wonderful veranda to enjoy a beer while looking at the capitol building.
The location is fabulous - walking distance to downtown restaurants and the Farmer's Market. Bikes are also available to rent.
I really liked the management style of this place. You could come and go as you pleased (don't have to pass by a front desk), but If you needed anything, you could call and get great service.
I was hesitant at first to write a review because when you find a gem like this, you kinda want to keep it secret.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
HI Pam! We appreciate your wonderful review of the Boise Guest House. The biggest compliment for us is if you return frequently! We thank you for your business, and we'll always make room for you! Cheers, Eve-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    11
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
29
58
20
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We live in Boise and do frequent stay-cations. One of our FAVORITE places is the Boise Guest House. The location is perfect, the rooms are CLEAN and very nicely decorated! We will continue to stay at the Boise Guest House for future stay-cations as well as recommend it to friends and family! You can't go wrong with this one of a kind place in Downtown Boise!

Room Tip: Each room is unique! We have stayed in almost every one and haven't been disappointed with any o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
HI Charity! Thank your for your great review! We look forward to having you back to stay with us again soon. We appreciate you being such a loyal customer, and staying in ALL of our rooms! You deserve a passport! :-) Have a great summer and we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised how nice our room was at boise guest house. It was very charming, great central location. We will definitely stay there again! One of my favorite places to stay downtown, prefer it to the local hotels.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Boise Guest House! We appreciate your kind words, and hope you will be back to stay with us the next time you visit Boise. Have a great summer! ~Eve-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Recently my wife and I had the pleasure of staying at the Boise Guest House. The laid back atmosphere and attention to our needs exceeded our expectations. The location of our room was such that we didn't have to rent a car for our entire stay. I walked to the Farmer's market and obtained all I needed for dinner that night. My son, his wife and our new grand daughter came over to break bread with us. The comfortable surroundings and functionality of the kitchen made for a calm and heartwarming family visit. The following day, we rented bikes from bgh and rode to the Boise Art Museum. We look forward to another stay when next we journey to Boise.

Tony Pantera

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for reviewing the Boise Guest House on Tripadvisor. We are so glad you found our place comfortable while visiting family. We hope you will stay with us again soon! Cheers! ~Eve-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

What an adorable place. Each room is decorated uniquely with a small kitchenette, and all the comforts of home. The backyard is lovely with a water feature and seating areas for all to enjoy. And BGH is dog friendly so there were lots of fun dogs and their owners to meet! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and will be back!

Room Tip: Suite 1 is the only animal free room so if you have allergies that's the room to pick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi Hollace! Thank you for your review. I'm so glad you enjoyed having a kitchenette, and appreciated the backyard as well. We hope you will be back soon! Have a great summer. Cheers, Eve-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McCall, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Living in McCall we visit Boise frequently for errand runs. In spring of 2012 we booked a trip at the Boise Guest House. We showed up happy to see how clean & welcoming the environment was the Boise Guest House. Our room was spacious, charming, & had fantastic little touches like top notch coffee, tea, & brownies. I have recommended the Boise Guest House to many friends since & will look forward to returning. The house is conveniently located near downtown & the Capital. It was one of the first trips to Boise that my husband & I agreed was relaxing, mostly because we stayed at The Boise Guest House.

Room Tip: We stayed in Suite 4 & it was wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your review! We hope that you come back and stay with us next time you head down from McCall. We really appreciate our travelers in mountain regions of Idaho (they need a little city, too!) Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We truly felt at home at the Boise Guest House! Our stay exceeded all of my expecations. The room was tastefully decorated and included everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. The location is convenient to walk or bike downtown. The owner was very responsive to our every need. We will definitely be back and would highly recommend this place to our friends and family! Don;t miss Flying M coffee when you visit :)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fastpotato, Owner at Boise Guest House, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Hi Donna! Thank for your your kind words about the Boise Guest House! It is folks like you who make us easier to find by writing such nice reviews. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, and we hope you return in the near future. Thanks again! -Eve-Marie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boise Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boise Guest House

Address: 614 N 5th Street, Boise, ID 83702
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Idaho > Boise
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Boise
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Boise Guest House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boise Guest House offers boutique lodging in a convenient downtown location. Our six fully furnished suites are artistically decorated and feature private bathrooms and appointed kitchens. Amenities include wireless internet, free parking, free coffee laundry facility, beautiful backyard. We offer studios, one bedroom and a two-bedrooms suites nightly and weekly, as well as entire facility rentals for retreats and groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Boise Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boise Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.