We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food and Great Waitress” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mary's Southern Grill

Mary's Southern Grill
1615 State Highway 17, Young Harris, GA
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Young Harris
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and Great Waitress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I am sorry that I don't remember the name of our waitress because we loved her! She was so funny and was so helpful to my husband and I. We ordered good, old southern country cooking and it did not disappoint. The fried chicken was good and moist, the collards were delicious and I can't stop thinking about the dill potato salad! Everyone was so friendly in there, even to strangers like us who were just passing through!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    33
    5
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

The staff is very friendly. and the breakfast was good, all at a good price. My wife I enjoyed the good service and the great coffee.The do not take credit or debit cards to make sure you bring cash.Our daughter starts Young Harris in the Fall, so they will see us again!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast in the area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is now our 6th season coming to the Lake Chatuge area and we have breakfast at Mary's EVERY morning we're here. There is no other breakfast place in the area that compares. Our favorite dishes are the corned beef hash and the chicken, egg & cheese biscuit. Be aware: this place is cash only.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Weekend kitchen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We spent the weekend of the 4th in the area and went here twice in the three days we stayed. Both times we went we were served quickly even though it was packed, and the staff was so friendly it felt like we were regulars. The food was simply amazing and they make a great cup of coffee. Do make sure you have cash on you as they didn't accept credit or debit when we went, but please don't let that stop you from trying this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Hiawassee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The key to success in this establishment is Mary and her very capable and friendly staff. The coffee cups remain hot and filled and the food is excellent. Portions are generous and the biscuits are large, fresh, and about as good as they get!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mary's Southern Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mary's Southern Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mary's Southern Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.