We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, slow service and unprofessional.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ash.Ka.Nam Resort

Ash.Ka.Nam Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ash River
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ash.Ka.Nam Resort
10209 Ash River Trail, Ash River, MN 55771   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ash River
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Expensive, slow service and unprofessional.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

To start off we had a tall blonde haired waitress who was too busy texting for the first five minutes to wait on our table. It was around 3 Pm with very few people in the lodge and our food took around 40 minutes and was very poorly cooked. To cap it all off 3.75$ for a warm beer was completely unacceptable and our waitress did replace it but charged us for the warm one. Overall poor service terrible food and I will not be recommending this place to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    1
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
3
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Located on the Ash River near the end of Ash River Trail, this resort has cabins, hotel/lodge rooms, a bar and restaurant overlooking the river, boat rentals with a launching ramp and a swim area in the river. We stayed in a lodge room since we were there only two nights – cabins required a three night minimum. There was no air conditioning in the lodge rooms or in the restaurant/bar but weather was not terribly hot in late June so not too uncomfortable. There was no way to get any cross ventilation in the room so it did tend to get warm. The room had a nice TV, a pretty good WiFi signal (though WiFi is advertised as available only in the bar/restaurant), but there were no cups provided, no ice bucket provided (ice available at the restaurant), no bath mat in the bathroom, and no table or chairs in the room. Additionally, the lodge is located within inches of the main road through the resort, across from the boat launching ramp, with occasional loud traffic noises at times, though we had no complaints with traffic or other noises in the evenings or during the night. It is definitely a family-friendly resort with many young children enjoying the swim area and playground provided. We had come here from the isolation and solitude of Isle Royale National Park; perhaps that's why the number of people and the noise of vacationing groups bothered my wife. A short drive back down Ash River Trail from the resort is Voyageurs National Park's Ash River Visitor Center and a few short hiking trails. The resort provides complimentary canoes for guests, and we enjoyed paddling up and down the river and into Sullivan Bay at the mouth of the river. The river provides an excellent entry way to the waters of Voyageurs National Park. There are several other resorts along the river which looked very nice, including Ebel's houseboat rentals with a houseboat for just about any size group. Some looked like floating mobile homes. All in all, recognizing the limitations, we had a pleasant stay and would recommend it (at least one of us would!).

Room Tip: Go for a cabin if staying 3 days or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

The Ash Ka Nam is by far THE most popular place on the Ash River Trail, the gateway to the Voyaguers National Park. This was not always the case. The resort was bought by Mark & Lynette Hraban, a couple that had previous experience owning the Sunset Resort for many years on the Ash River Trail. With their experience and positive attitude, they rebuilt the reputation of the Ash Kan Nam Resort back up to become the most popular place on the Ash River Trail.

They have updated the cabins, brought in a terrific menu at the Resort itself and have treated the customer base, that keeps returning, with friendliness and respect. People truly do make a business successful. This resort exemplifies it with, not only Mark and Lynette, but with all the employees. Nice job!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012 via mobile

We had a group of 30 people and there was not one problem. all of the staff was professional and fast with service. The food was great the cabins were clean I would say this is one of the most wonderful places to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Mountain, Nevada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

The service in the lodge is awful! The pizza is decent but the slow service is just not acceptable! You will want a seat by the window- the view is wonderful and it will give you something to do while you wait for your food, refills and the bill!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Ash River hotels

Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2010

I went with my family and friends. We had a group of 9 people that consisted of 8 adults and a 12 year old. There is not much to do there in the winter. We asked the lady in the lodge what there was to do and she said "snowmobile and drink". So that's what they did. The trails are great for snowmobiling and the views are beautiful, but that's about it. The nearest store, should you need anything was about a 45 minute drive from the resort. The wiring in our cabin was messed up, and considering that we stayed in the big house, wich is the biggest and most expensive cabin, we were ripped off. The lighting was terrible, in one room you couldnt turn on the overhead light without turning on the fan and the other rooms didn't have an overhead light just a little lamp. There was limited service, no phones, and the pictures exagerated the real quality of the resort. The big house was also where they do laundry, so there was a loud generator like thing going off all the time. The condos are literally right on top of the big house so we could hear everything. The food was alright in the lodge. The beds were comfortable. It was overall an okay resort but I wouldn't go there twice. Please note that pets are only allowed in select cabins, cannot be left unsupervised in or out of the cabin/room(someone has to stay behind if you want dinner at the lodge), and you have to pay around $25 a day per pet.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ash.Ka.Nam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ash.Ka.Nam Resort

Address: 10209 Ash River Trail, Ash River, MN 55771
Location: United States > Minnesota > Ash River
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Ash River

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ash.Ka.Nam Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ash.Ka.Nam Resort to your Saves list