We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and okay service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Piccolo's Italian Steak House

Piccolo's Italian Steak House
2061 Hog Mountain Rd, Watkinsville, GA
(706) 705-1501
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 34 Restaurants in Watkinsville
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bogart, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good food and okay service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Variable, but mostly very good food. Service, like that in most college towns, varies extremely by the waiter of the night. Entryway could use some better dusting and sweeping.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athens, GA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A regular stop for our family when dining out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This little place has earned our admiration for consistency and for tasty, well-prepared meals. Variety is excellent. Servcie is excellent. Wait times are very short (for us anyway). Portion size is very good. We eat there several times a month. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Whatever you do, don't ask for whole wheat pasta.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

This restaurant is a beautiful restaurant in watkinsville, ga. Linen table clothes, lots of smiling customers and employees when you walk in the door. Upon looking at the menu, my husband and I were both impressed by the prices (and later the sizes) of the half orders. 9 dollars for a hefty portion of yummy food.

Now for the reason we won't return: when we asked if they sell whole wheat pasta, we were told "yes". Then an hour later after our two boys had reeked havock on our nice dinner and the couple beside us had been sat, had their appetizer, had their dinner, got their check, and left, a manager came to our table to say that an employee was going over to a nearby grocery store to get our pasta. What?! Why was that the first we'd heard about them not having whole wheat pasta? Why were we not given the option of opting out of whole wheat, why didn't someone tell us it wasn't available. We arrived at the restaurant at 5:45 and left the restaurant at 7:15 AND had eaten nothing but bread! We took the food home to eat because our boys were DONE sitting. (and so was I.) we were given a free dessert and a lunch comped for our trouble. Yes, you heard that right, we still had to pay for our meal.

We will go to Dominic's (a very close by competitor) from now on.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Food Very Good - Service Just Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed the pasta. Baked ziti with sausage is plentiful and delicious.

Service seems to be entry level as we never saw our attendant again after lunch was delivered.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Love the food, the server and the owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Fantastic Foodie says: What is a piccolo? A small instrument that plays an octave higher than a flute, right? But not in Watkinsville, GA. It is a wonderful Italian Steak House tucked away in a small shopping center on Hog Mountain Road. It's extensive menu offers fresh pasta, vegetables, steaks, chicken, and homemade desserts. The atmosphere is friendly and if Tim, the owner is there, he will come by your table and strike up a conversation. He has learned the southern charm and hospitality even though he is originally from New York. The seafood dish with scallops and shrimp over pasta was delicious, however, my sweet tooth could not wait until dessert! The chocolate chip bread pudding was the perfect ending to a perfect meal. Piccolo's will be opening soon at Lake Oconee, but the Watkinsville restaurant will not be compromised in any way.....still excellent service and food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piccolo's Italian Steak House also viewed

Watkinsville, GA
 
Watkinsville, GA
Watkinsville, GA
 

Been to Piccolo's Italian Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piccolo's Italian Steak House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.