We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Watkinsville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
5 Harden Hill Road, Watkinsville, GA 30677   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Watkinsville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

I wanted to stay longer. Elegantly quirky and entirely enjoyable. This historic home has been made into something much more than just a period restoration. The owners seemed genuinely friendly and interested in making this a great place to stay. Breakfasts were beautifully presented and delicious. This is exactly what I want in a Bed and Breakfast. My husband liked it too, not too "frilly or fussy." There are also several restaurants just across the street so dinner was very convenient. Watkinsville is a pleasant small town and only about 10 miles from Athens GA.

Room Tip: The Cottage Gallery Suite is decorated in a quirky fun way that makes you want to smile. Lots of art...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    10
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
23
97
6
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

We happened on Ashford Manor by accident while looking for a place in the north Georgia mountains for the weekend. What a stroke of luck! The entire facility was wonderful (except the pillows!) and we felt very welcome. But breakfast! Creme' Brulee' French toast! That's all I can say without getting in the car and driving back for another night!

Room Tip: Garden Room need better pillows!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My girlfriend and I made a return to Ashford Manor, a B&B in Watkinsville, GA about an hour away from Atlanta and just as each previous time we were overwhelmed with the property and area. This is truly the best B&B that we have ever stayed at and we have stayed at many! The house is decorated so elegantly with lots of antiques. The house is always peaceful and welcoming and we always feel relaxed and welcome. Dave and Mario, the Owners of the house are as gracious and kind as they can be, they always ask if we need anything and treat us more like visiting family than paying guests. Besides the variously themed bedrooms our favorite room is the sitting room where we can spend hours enjoying the music in the background and lots of conversation. The room is decorated with many antiques but also has some unusual but interesting pieces and it has a nice and comfortable lived in feeling to it that just seems to invite you in for a chance to sit down and relax. Then in the morning, it is the icing on the cake, an outstanding breakfast which is cooked right on site and it never disappoints, plus you can be served breakfast in your room or go to the dining room and have a table to yourself, we like this much better than at most B&B's where you are crowded around a table with people you have never met. We do quite a bit of traveling and we cannot think of a place that we would want to visit more than Ashford Manor. Even though it is only a little bit over an hour from where we live each time we go it is like leaving all of the hustle and bustle behind a beautiful, romantic place to go to and recharge our batteries. Go and try it at least once, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens ga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife and I stay at ashford manor when ever we can. The beds are so comfortable we don't want to leave. Breakfast was excellent and the service is great. They treat us like part of the family when we are ther. We will be back and back again and again!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Helen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My wife & I and our 4lb pomeranian, Ivey, spent a wonderful, relaxing evening the Ashford Manor last night and we couldn't be more pleased. The Safari room was comfortable and the decor was amazing. The hosts graciously gave us directions through the scenic Georgia country side to the Blue Willow Inn for dinner. Breakfast the next morning was among the two or three best I've ever had. I would recommend to anyone, without reservation, a stay at the Ashford Manor Bed & Breakfast.

Richard/Max

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Mario and Dave do it right. Awesome for a romantic getaway. The Cottage Hideaway is private and Cozy. Beautiful grounds for strolling. The breakfast is to die for prepared in house with a little help from the bakery across the street it was a wonderful experience. Thanks to all the staff at Ashford Manor for a memorable weekend. My only complaint is my stay was not long enough.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great B&B room selection. Food was top notch (check my pics out). Beds were amazing (in fact my wife wanted to buy the pillows!). We even had 8 relatives over for dinner in our room with its kitchen area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast

Address: 5 Harden Hill Road, Watkinsville, GA 30677
Location: United States > Georgia > Watkinsville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Watkinsville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We like to think of ourselves as the best kept secret in Georgia. The five acre Ashford Estate, overlooking Watkinsville's venerable Main Street, had been in the same family for over 100 years. Completely surrounded and secluded by a border of magnolias, red buds and pines, the 1893 Victorian manor house, cottage, gazebo and four acres of landscaped gardens all terrace down to a pool and open woods and creek beyond. We are walking distance to antique shops and art galleries of local fine and folk art talent. Ashford Manor and our new facility Ashford On Main are available for weddings, reunions, business meetings, retreats, bridal showers and more! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashford Manor Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.