We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quick getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Fitzpatrick Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Fitzpatrick Hotel to your Saves list
The Fitzpatrick Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   16 West Square, Washington, GA 30673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Washington B&B and Inns
Bishop, Georgia, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Quick getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I spent Valentine's night in the historic hotel. We love to stay in restored propertys! Our room 307 (top floor of the tower) at The Fitzpatrick had antique furniture including the bed frame, which was beautiful, and a gas fireplace. The claw footed tub and old-fashioned plumbing was a step back in time. The service was perfect! We were able to check out a movie in the lobby and the flat screen in the room offered modern comfort. Breakfast the next morning was great--it included fruit, pastries, juice, coffee, and milk. This hotel feels more like a bed and breakfast with all the quaint charm. The view from our room allowed us to look out over the square and we walked across the parking lot to The Jockey Club for dinner--which was also spectacular! I could not be more pleased with our one night stay. Be mindful older buildings can be drafty and bring slippers or a robe for comfort :-)

Room Tip: 307 has to be the best room in the building, besides the suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    18
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
55
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cumming
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

You'll feel like you're stepping back in time from the moment you approach the front door. The attention to detail used in the restoration of this historic Hotel is apparent everywhere you look. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. My wife fell in love with the large clawfoot bathtub. After relaxing with a complimentary bottle of wine, we had one of the best night's sleep in recent memory. The "continental breakfast" exceed our expectations with a wonderful "home cooked" breakfast casserole along with the usual fare of cereals, rolls, fruit and juices.

If you're looking for "state of the art" with a business center to rival IBM, look elsewhere, but if you're looking for "state of the art" for 100 years ago with impeccable service and appointments, this is the place for you (and yes, you can still get Wi-Fi!).

Room Tip: All rooms are great, but the next visit we will get one of the tower rooms for a little more of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I stayed Thursday and Friday nights in tower room 307 and totally enjoyed my stay. The staff was very helpful and courteous. The continental breakfast on both mornings had a nice assortment of choices including fresh fruit, croissants, muffins, cereal, and yogurt. Restoration of this 1898 historic hotel was very tastefully done and made me feel that I had been transported back to Victorian times. My room was furnished with era appropriate antiques and the bathroom had a vintage sink and clawfoot tub. Modern amenities include wi-fi, ceiling fan, television, gas fireplace (in some rooms), recessed ceiling lighting (with dimmer control) and central heating/air conditioning. There are numerous stained glass Windows (top portions) and the main staircase is especially impressive. The hotel is conveniently located on the town square and walking distance to shops and restaurants. The town of Washington and this hotel were a welcoming respite and I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conyers, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Fabulous hotel in a very small city with wonderful old antebellum homes. The hotel only has 17 rooms and may not be open during the week. Just call ahead and they may open the hotel for you. The hotel is at least 100 years old and is soooo beautiful, the rooms are large and comfortable, they come with breakfast and the staff is most courteous. I loved my stay there!!

Room Tip: ask for a room facing the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Stranded unexpectedly in Washington, GA turned out to be an unexpected lifelong memory-- with the happiest of endings. The Fitzpatrick Hotel was charming and the owner, Christy Todd, was exceedingly hospitable and incredibly helpful! What a treat we found in Washington!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McDonough, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

From the moment I walked into the door until it was time to leave, I felt completely taken care of by the staff. The hotel has been marvelously restored with modern appointments yet maintaining the vintage charm. While it is my first visit to The Fitzpatick it will not be my last. In town for a very surprise birthday party and needing a spot to prepare a dish for the occasion, the staff were very accommodating with providing a space to prepare...of course I cleaned up my mess. I look forward to returning in the late fall with my family for a Christmas Shop visit. Until then I will reflect on a marvelous visit.

Room Tip: The third floor tower room is sunny and spacious with a great view of downtown Washington!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at the Fitzpatrick for one night in April, 2013, and can't wait to return. The tower rooms are a little more expensive but definitely worth it. It's a trip back in time with a few modern necessities-free WiFi & cable TV. Quiet, clean, friendly staff and free parking at the door. Don't expect all the bells & whistles of a large chain hotel, but if you want a unique and relaxed experience you'll find it at the Fitzpatrick.

Room Tip: Tower room on 3rd floor is quiet and has a nice view of the town square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Fitzpatrick Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fitzpatrick Hotel

Address: 16 West Square, Washington, GA 30673
Location: United States > Georgia > Washington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Fitzpatrick Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This fully-restored, historic hotel sits directly on the square in lovely downtown Washington and allows guests to experience luxurious accommodations reminiscent of another era, while providing all the modern amenities our guests have come to expect such as: hot-breakfast, DSL, 24-hour on site staff, off-site health club facility, satellite television, restaurant on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your The Fitzpatrick Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fitzpatrick Hotel Washington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Fitzpatrick Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.