We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good if your a smoker” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Plantation Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Washington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Washington Plantation Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Washington Plantation Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
15 Lexington Avenue, Washington, GA 30673   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Washington B&B and Inns
Washington
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good if your a smoker”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is a small cute town. The plantation is a nice home with lots of character. The owners are pleasent, they host a wine/cheese hour, and have a beer fridge so those were nice touches. The house is old and in need of repair. The up keep could be done better. Upon arrival I noticed it was a bit cluttered and upon entering smelled smoke. Im very allergic to smokenand asked the owner if there was smoking and they said absolutely not. There were two big events in town so every place was booked and I trusted the owner. In fact there were signs prohibiting smoking. I smelled smoke in the feather pillows, in the middle of the night it seemed to get worse at times, and was stronger in the morning. I had to try to open a window in the middle of the night that offered some relief. In the morning, i had to go out side to get some fresh air (20. Degrees) to enjoy my paper and coffee. I was getting sick and went to the inn keeper who was smoking and told him the smoke was really bothering me. It was disappointing someone in the service industry would lie to me about the accommodations even after I told him I get sick from smoke. If you smoke this maybe a pleasent stay but I would certainly not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    13
    0
    3
    4
See reviews for
5
54
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

This was our first experience at a B&B. We were greeted as soon as we pulled up the driveway and were warmly welcomed into Tom and Barbara's home.
Wine and cheese hour was very enjoyable. We were able to learn a lot about the area and what we should visit the next day.
The Planter's Room was absolutely wonderful. The bed was incredibly comfortable, the tub was relaxing, and the fire was cozy.
Definitely a great place to celebrate our "cotton" anniversary.

Room Tip: Bed is the Planter's Room was SO comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Decided on a Thursday to go down to the Washington, GA area for the weekend. Spent Saturday afternoon touring the Calloway Plantation before heading on to the Washington Plantation. Was greeted by Tom who gave us a tour of the house and history of the grounds. After checking in to our room we were served wine and cheese on the large front porch while getting to know Tom and Barbara. They are gracious hosts who went the extra mile to make us feel welcomed and truly relaxed. Recommended a couple of places for dinner and we decided on the grill just off the square for casual dining. We slept well in the comfy bed and was warmed by the remote controlled gas fireplace. Was offered breakfast at whatever time we prefered and settled on 9:30 allowing us to walk the grounds before a most wonderful breakfast that was well prepared and had portions we could not totally finish. We left Washington Plantation feeling like we had spent time with old friends and will return again.

Room Tip: We viewed all rooms and any would be accommodating. We stayed in Katie's Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

My wife and I recently had a great stay here. The house is wonderful and the hosts were great. Check out the Calloway Plantation if you're in Washington.....quite interesting. The town itself is Mayberry-like but does have one pretty good restaurant on the square. I would certainly recommend the Washington Plantation B&B as a memorable place to stay.

David, New Jersey

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011 via mobile

My wife and I loved our stay here! Visiting out on the veranda with Tom and Barbra while having wine, cheese and crackers was like visiting with friends you haven't seen in years. Tom and Barb made us feel most welcome in their lovely home. We enjoyed the old time feel of the plantation home while having access to Wi-Fi. We would highly recommend staying there, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabethtown, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We spent an evening at the Washington Plantation Bed and Breakfast for my husband's R&R. Tom and Barbara were such wonderful hosts and we had such a great time chatting with them on the porch. The breakfast was amazing! And the room was so beautiful and comfortable. We loved the little town nearby and wished we could have spent more time there. We are absolutely planning a (longer!) trip back there soon! Would highly recommend it!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011 via mobile

Tom and Barb set us up for another perfect weekend. We rented the whole house for the 4th time and had a blast. The rooms, the southern elegance sand the friendly attitude of the host and staff were awesome. We will be back. Thanks Sherman, for bypassing Washington and leaving this glorious place just like it was centuries ago.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Washington Plantation Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plantation Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Lexington Avenue, Washington, GA 30673
Location: United States > Georgia > Washington
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Washington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Washington Plantation! Here you will find all the luxuries a cotton baron would extend to his honored guests, plus all the 21st century amenities you've come to expect in the finest of hotels. Come see us. We're "Elegant, but not stuffy!" ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Plantation Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.