We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Washington Jockey Club

Washington Jockey Club
5 E Public Sq, Washington, GA 30673
(706) 678-1672
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Washington
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great Hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We enjoyed our dinner at the Washington Jockey Club very much. The hosts were gracious and welcoming and even recognized us the next morning. The food was delicious and cooked just right. We look forward to our next visit.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    10
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Always great food and attentive friendly service in this small town gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

The Jockey Club is in an old historic buidling used in the 19th century by the actual jockey club in the area, formed by planatation owners. Decor is tastefully done for 19th centruy horse racing. Very nice original art on the walls. Very popular with the horse set. Food is creative and very VERY good. I have never had a bad meal there, and they have a nice selection of reasonably priced domestic wines. Desserts are AWESOME, and vary day by day. I try to drive over to Washington at least a couple times a month to enjoy the friendly atmosphere and GREAT food. Prices are reasonable for the quality of food and service. Seafood chowder is outstanding.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trion, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful local restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Food is fabulous, service is excellent. The night we ate there, they had a local band to play. Lots of fun!!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina, United States
1 review
“A Very Pleasant Surprise !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

Recommended by the owner of the Fitzpatrick Hotel, what a pleasant surprise to be treated to an absolutely amazing dinner !!! While my husband had the Rib-eye dinner which he said was very, very good, my pecan-crusted chicken was awesome! Have never had such a wonderful tasting piece of chicken... can't wait to return for more ! Casual yet elegant atmosphere with very friendly service!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Southern Hospitality and Delicious Salmon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Waitress was very very nice and attentive. The owner was eating with some other diners but made it a point to stop by our table multiple times to make sure we were satisfied.
The salmon special with pineapple topping was delicious. My partner's steak was order rare and prepared very well.
Would definitely revisit this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Washington Jockey Club also viewed

 

Been to Washington Jockey Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Washington Jockey Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.