We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulloch House Restaurant

The Bulloch House Restaurant
47 Bulloch Street, Warm Springs, GA 31830-2391
706-655-9068
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Buffet, Dessert
Dining style: Home Style
Description: The Bulloch House features a Southern buffet & is located just south of the town center of Warm Springs on GA Highway 41. In a house that’s over 100 years old, The Bullock house has several rooms used as dining areas. The buffet main features are fried chicken & fried green tomatoes. There’s also a limited menu that can be ordered separately.
Milton, Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is just a normal country-cooking buffet type restaurant. It was clean enough and the service was good. But it was nothing special. For the salad bar, the choices for a green garden salad were lettuce, tomatoes, onions and bell peppers with bacon bits and croutons. Enough but nothing special. It certainly was not terrible but it wasn't anything above average.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    48
    36
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

My wife and I ate lunch here (our second visit of the last few years) and we enjoyed our meal. This is southern home-style cooking (fried chicken, fried green tomatoes, etc.) and the fried chicken, in particular, was tasty. The service was also excellent and the atmosphere is also a plus. Not a great value at $8.95, but acceptable for what you get.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barwick, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Okay...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Okay country buffet...not outstanding. Good fried chicken and green tomatoes. Chicken and noodles NOT chicken and dumplings!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Dining at the Bulloch House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I had heard alot about the restaurant from other friends. I decided to take my mother visiting from Michigan and a friend visiting from Texas. We were completely delighted with our visit. We went for lunch. The food was fabulous. The tea cakes and the caramel cake tasted just like my grandmother's. The waitress was very pleasant. The fried apples were tasty. I definitely will return again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogart, Georgia
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“For those of us in the South, it's just another buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Don't get me wrong, it's a good, solid, tasty lunch priced about right compared to other buffets lunches. It won't disappoint if you go looking to a plateful of Southern type food. But, for those of us who have eaten at dozens of buffets, it is very ordinary. The day I was there, they had fried chicken (a staple of all Georgia buffets), barbeque chicken (mine was cold) and a Mac 'n cheese/ham casserole concoction plus vegies. However, there were no mashed potatoes or sweet potatoes (very unacceptable at a Southern buffet) and the salad bar was very limited. As for the beautiful old home/atmosphere, it's old all right but I failed to see anything special about it.
What can I say? It's much hyped but, in reality, it's just a common buffet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bulloch House Restaurant also viewed

 
Warm Springs, GA
 

Been to The Bulloch House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulloch House Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.