We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of F. D. Roosevelt State Park

F. D. Roosevelt State Park
F.D. Roosevelt State Park, Warm Springs, GA 31822
706-663-4858
Improve this listing
Type: State Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Site of Dowdell's Knob, President Franklin Roosevelt's favorite picnic spot where he hosted family barbecues.
West Fargo, North Dakota
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Ran a race in this park and was blown away by its beauty. I am not from Georgia, but have been there multiple times, and was very presently supprised by the scenery. Worth a visit if you are in the area

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    16
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Macon, Georgia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place for hikes and gentle backpacking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The 20+ mile Pine Mountain Trail and side trails provide several loops for dayhikes. Good place for an introduction to backpacking and backcountry camping. Unexpectedly nice views. Connections to history as one of FDRs favorite places. Near Calloway Gardens and Warm Springs. Trails are well-maintained by the trail association. RV camping comparable to other GA state parks.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“OK camping, good hiking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Just camped here for the Labor Day weekend with a group. As previous reviewers have mentioned, campsites are not huge and tend to be close together with little or no underbrush for privacy. The biggest problem with the sites is that they are ROCKY. By this I mean that there are very large (tennis ball size or larger) rocks embedded in some of the sites. We were sleeping on good REI inflatable mattresses, and I could still feel the rocks underneath me way too much. They really need a hardcore leveling job. Bring a true inflatable mattress or a cot if you want a good night's sleep.

But I guess many people don't come here to hang out at the sites, and that's good, since there's a lot to do otherwise. There's a lake, and we saw many people fishing in it. There's the Liberty Bell pool, which is huge in comparison to the pictures online. Finally, there's the 23 mile Pine Mountain trail and numerous shorter loop trails. We hiked the Wolfden loop, and other than a couple of long stretches where a tornado had wiped out the tops of the trees (and thus the shade on the trail), it was a very scenic hike, with waterfalls, overlooks, and a clear, cool mountain stream.

I'd return again, but I've already ordered my cot for the next visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tiny campground, nice cabins”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We have camped all over the state of Georgia and found this park's campground to be smaller and more crowded than we prefer. Otherwise it is a nice park. The stone cabins that I believe were built by the CCC were charming and we plan to return soon to stay in one of those. The view from the back porches was lovely. It is a nice area and a good weekend destination.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Campground”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is a very peaceful campground. Most of the sites are private and have lots of shade. Liberty bell pool is very nice. You have to drive to it. But it is less than 5 minutes away. My only complaint is that you can not reserve a specific site. They are first come first serve. Other than that we had a wonderful time camping and can't wait until we can come back.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F. D. Roosevelt State Park also viewed

 

Been to F. D. Roosevelt State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage F. D. Roosevelt State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.