We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gabe's is City of Gold's gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gabe's Downtown

Gabe's Downtown
104 West Montgomery Street, Villa Rica, GA 30180
770-456-6026
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 58 Restaurants in Villa Rica
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Gabe's is City of Gold's gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Nearly 40 miles outside of Atlanta, the small town of Villa Rica has a few special eating places that live up to her nickname: The City of Gold. And Gabe's Downtown is certainly one of them.
This Cajun and Creole restaurant's culinary staff never ceases to delight. And the personable wait staff add to the warmth of reception from hello to goodbye.
Gabe's atmosphere will transport you to the French Quarter in old New Orleans, and so will an ample menu featuring mouth-watering standards like blackened fish, jambalaya and etouffee to name just a few. The restaurant also offers a healthy list of wines for perfect pairings and specialty cocktails for a range of tastes. Beer lovers will find an array of draughts from local Georgia microbreweries and a few national craft breweries.

On a recent visit to celebrate a birthday, we were seated right away and our waiter ably answered our questions about dishes, wine selections and beer choices. We dined on two of Gabe's signature dishes -- ribeye steak finished in a Cabernet demi glace and herb butter, and blackened salmon with Thai coconut rice and coconut shrimp. The meal was stunning. For a very special dinner, five stars isn't enough.

Gabe's also has special offerings these days on Tuesdays and Wednesdays nights that add value to the dining experience. There are family-priced selections, so pack up the kids and bring your appetite.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    13
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Villa Rica, Georgia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Five star menu 3 star price AAA+++”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

You cant go wrong here. we are locals here that just moved in over a year ago. kept hearing about gabes. decided to drop in to see what all the fuss was about. after eating at many 5 star resturaunts this place really is up there with them. we ordered the fillet mignon and wow wow wow cooked to perfection we have been 4 times now its a hidden little gem you keep in your pocket. just hope it stays that way AAA+++

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Oh, yeah...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

...great place; if you are anywhere near Northwest Georgia, it is worth the trip. Interesting menu, great presentation, superior service--this place has it all. If you live in the area, get on the email list because they have periodic wine dinners that are a tremendous value. Overall, one of our favorite restaurants.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food & a great deal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Great Southern cooking with a twist. The shrimp and grits were amazing! If you go early, there's a great prefix deal that has 3 courses. The service was excellent as well.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Worth the Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I was looking for a somewhat central location for dinner to meet my daughter who lives in Atlanta. I live in Birmingham. We tried Gabe's in Villa Rica based on Trip Advisor reviews. We were not disappointed. From the shrimp and grits to the filet the entrees were excellent and cooked to perfection. We also tried some of the desserts. I am not normally a bread pudding fan, but Gabe's was really yummy.

Our server was very attentive even though the restaurant was full on a Saturday night. She even made a fresh pot of coffee when I told her that my coffee came to the table only slightly warm.

Gabe's also has a good wine list. Next time we visit I want to see why there was such a line at the bar where the martinis were being served. This place is a definite "do over".

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gabe's Downtown also viewed

 

Been to Gabe's Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gabe's Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.