We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Gold Museum is a "gem"!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pine Mountain Gold Museum at Stockmar Park

Pine Mountain Gold Museum at Stockmar Park
1881 Stockmar Road, Villa Rica, GA 31080
770-459-8455
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 Attractions in Villa Rica
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Villa Rica, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This Gold Museum is a "gem"!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

A really fun place to spend the afternoon, especially if you have your grandchildren. They loved panning for gold and touring the actual property. My husband and I really enjoyed the movie which told of the rich history in this wonderful town.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Don't know why I put this off so long”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Took the whole family and had a blast. The museum was ok,they are building a replica of the first bottling plant in Villa Rica. . . coming soon. We will have to go back to see that. The 18 minute film is very informative. Who knew there was so much history here. The rest of the grounds are beautiful. The petting zoo/live animal exhibit was a hit with the kids. Will have to go back for panning. On the plus side its only a ten minute drive for me.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Well done!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Small, but neat items in the museum, great hiking trails, and the kid's loved all the animals in the petting zoo. Mining for gold was fun, and the kids loved "finding" jewels.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great, Inexpensive Time for Family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Me and my family visited the Stockmar Gold Museum and my kids were so thrilled to see all of the barn animals on the exhibit! The gentleman let us feed a few of them and my kids were so tickled. We walked the trails and loved to explore the tanks and read all of the information and history throughout. Everyone was SUPER nice and courteous and just fun! We got to pan for gemstones and gold and we walekd away with a great experience adn lots of great stones and gold. The museum itself is amazing, small and quaint, but cozy and nostalgic. The "tunnel" you go through to watch the movie, was fantastic! Whoever did that is incredible! The panning was only $5 and the movie/tour was $5-- GREAT price too! All around, we had a fabulous time, and definitely plan on going back.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Rica, Georgia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Villa Rica was the sight of a gold rush in the 1840s. In fact the name Villa Rica, means city of Gold. The museum has a decent amount of displays about the gold mining history of the area, and some nature trails where you can see remnants of the mining activity. Kids can pan for gold, although we did not try this. It's a nice, inexpensive and educational place to visit.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pine Mountain Gold Museum at Stockmar Park also viewed

Villa Rica, GA
Douglasville, GA
 

Been to Pine Mountain Gold Museum at Stockmar Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine Mountain Gold Museum at Stockmar Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.