We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel still finding its way” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Promenade Hotel Tawau

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Promenade Hotel Tawau to your Saves list
Promenade Hotel Tawau
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Eastern Plaza, Jalan Kuhara, Mile 1, Tawau, Malaysia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tawau
West Sussex England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel still finding its way”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

This rather ugly hotel is located some way out of the centre, meaning that taxis are required if you want to visit the reputedly superb sea food stalls in town (but there is a rank at the hotel). Rooms are modern and comfortable, with good air-conditioning to ensure a good night's sleep. The dining room has a nice terrace for a pleasant warm dinner on a balmy evening, with good simple food. The buffet breakfast is a bit basic, though the egg station will provide a nice omelette. Coffee and juice is below standard. The staff are generally friendly, but clearly unused to Western tourists. We stayed in an executive room and instantly made our way to the executive lounge for the cocktail hour, only to find it was closed 'this year', as the grim receptionist informed us. The lobby bar had one or two bottles of spirits with just enough left to provide us with a couple of gins. They had run out of lemon, and didn't stock tonic, so we strolled into the shopping mall next door and bought some of our own, plus a tube of Pringles, and happily consumed them back at the hotel bar. Wifi was obtained only after a team of experts were summoned to assist us (although it took no effort at all next morning at breakfast). This is a nice hotel, primarily for locals, and offers a bit of fun if you want to get away from the tourist trail for a night. It's also on the right side of town for the airport.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    25
    21
    14
    1
See reviews for
12
14
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Checked in after a nightmarish journey of 15 hours from Bangkok, had dinner, signed it to my room and then went to sleep at about 10 pm. At 1:00 am in the morning, a phone call, which when I picked up, no one said anything. Started to worry and then fell asleep. Then 10 minutes later, a knock on my door, followed by the doorbell. Scared me out of my own skin. As it turned out, it was a staff from the restaurant who told me I could not sign the dinner to my room, AND he had to collect the cash payment from me there and then. By then I could not fall sleep. Had to rise at 6:30 am to conduct training for the whole day for a client.

By lunch I decided that I should complain to the Manager in charge. This was one Mr Chai, the so called Resident Manager. When I asked for him at the front desk, the staff went into the back office, and then after 5 minutes, came back to say that he was 'out for lunch'. The staff might as well have told me "He told me to tell you that he is out for lunch." I told the staff I was very upset, and I wanted to speak to him, and left my number and requested that he contacted me. The coward never called back during my entire stay.

The sales person asked what I was upset about and I explained my unhappiness. Presumably, he went to inform the Resident Manager, because magically, by the end of lunch, the restaurant manager appeared and apologised profusely without taking responsibility, but instead blamed staff who had 'already been trained and told what to do'.

The staff are pleasant and helpful enough, but some of the managers here are most unprofessional and cannot be depended on to handle things. So stay away if you have important work to do.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tawau hotels

Orebro, Sweden
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

First time,my wife,my sister,her son and myself arrived at Promenade Hotel by the hotel´s bus from Tawau airport cost only RM10.00 per head and we booked a twin and a double bed-room,big and comfortable. Bathroom & toilet are very clean provided with slippers,comb,toothbrushes and etc. The buffet breakfast with noodles,porridge,nasi lemak,pastries and fresh fruits etc. The staff is wonderful and helpful and however this hotel is attached to a mall and cinera and there´s also a food-court on the LG floor if one wants to eat for lunch or dinner. On the whole,this is the best or presentable hotel which I can recommend in Tawau esp. when eating breakfast outside the balcony on 7th floor,the morning breeze and a bird´s eye view over Tawau is wonderful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Two hours and forty five min. flight from KLIA to Tawau international airport plus RM 45.00 by taxi to Promenade hotel Tawau.Booked superior room rate RM190.00 and very satisfied with the room.The big room and comfortable king bed.clean bath room,good flow of hot and cold shower,any way the towel needs to be refurbished.The breakfast is good with fresh fruit and juices hot buffet and pastries.The hotel is attached to the shopping mall and cinema ,there's food court at the LG floor.There is no swimming pool and the room is not sound proof you can hear the tv from the next room .

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stayed overnight x2 at this hotel on way to and from Mabul Island for our diving trip... Hotel is old...carpet, bath room tiles etc etc.. need to be renovated.. a bit far away from town.. catching a taxi was difficult (non existent) .. had to eat in the restaurant... quality of food was average... cost was reasonable.. Just order simple dishes.. u may enjoy it better.. ..
Plus side.. the bed was comfortable, room was quite big, linen was clean... .... Reception service was good but the staff at coffee shop were busy watching cable TV... just to order a beer took 15-20mins and had to ask a few times.... and the beer fridge was just behind the counter..
we were on the non-smoking floor but still the smoke smell lingered on.... ..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed in Tawau on our way through to the islands. We were on a smoking floor which we didn't realize until we got up to the floor, which is a bit of a shock to our kiwi system. The hotel is on top of a mall which has everything you may or may not need. We ate a small restaurant selling all types of Asian cuisine... It was the BEST dinner we had experienced during our trip through Malaysia.
We had the buffet breakfast prior to leaving early the next morning which was more than satisfactory. Would stay again but on the non smoking floor.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
227 reviews 227 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The setting of the hotel overall is nice. Contemporary decoration.

Got into the room, it was small. Moving around inside the room can be a hassle.

If you are hungry and wanted to have some late night snack, then have to go hungry. Even dinner place is not open till late.

Pretty limited in choice in the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Promenade Hotel Tawau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Promenade Hotel Tawau

Address: Eastern Plaza, Jalan Kuhara, Mile 1, Tawau, Malaysia
Location: Malaysia > Sabah > Tawau Division > Tawau
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Tawau
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Promenade Hotel Tawau 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Promenade Hotel Tawau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Promenade Hotel Tawau Sabah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Promenade Hotel Tawau, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.