We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Conference Center
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2101 W Hill Ave, Valdosta, GA 31601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Valdosta
Valdosta, Georgia, United States
1 review
“Last weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I had a gathering last weekend with 100 hundred plus people. I was sort of worried because I never had a gathering that big before but the staff at The Clarion were very helpful and made our stay easy and fun. The rooms were clean and Security helped me keep everyone safe in an control. Everyone told me how much fun they had there and we spent most of our time on the property. They have a pool, volley ball court and a pavilion for us all to eat and socialize together. Im just glad I picked this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    27
    21
    8
    10
See reviews for
40
24
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elgin, Illinois, United States
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I are loyal choice hotel customers. We were on a road trip from illinois to florida. After 15 hours on the road we decided to stop for the night. The clarion looked good, bar on site, clean bed, etc... We booked the room with our choice hotel points, and checked in. We were told the bar was closed, but there was a topless bar across the street. We asked were there was a liquor store instead and we were sent to a liquor store that was closed. We found a bar in the holiday inn down the street. When we got back and headed to the room, we saw groups of people drinking out in the parking lot, a couples of kids smoking pot by one of the buildings, and rather outdated motor lodge type buildings. We were very tired so we overlooked all of that and headed to our room. When we opened the door to the building we were hit with the overpowering deodorizer smell in the hallway. We entered the room and it smelled moldy and the a/c unit sounded like an airplane getting ready to take off. We went back outside and got to see a person peeing on a bush across the parking lot. That was the last straw and we decided that this hotel wasn't for us, we grabbed our stuff and headed to the car. As we were loading our stuff in the car we got to see a drug deal in the parking lot. Needless to say we got the hell out of that hotel and town!! Do not stay at this hotel if you are expecting the normal choice hotel experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Alabama, United States
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

Great stay on our way down to Florida. It's a cool looking hotel with great rooms and good service. Breakfast area was a little bit of a walk to find, but it was good. I'll stay there again if I get the chance.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Really nice and clean room, The restaurant adjacent to the hotel has really good food. We enjoyed the prime rib. Room was very clean, had room to sit down and enjoy the flat screen tv. We had a secured entry building, would have asked for a ground floor drive-up room instead.

Room Tip: Request a ground floor drive-up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Fl
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This definitely wouldn't have been our first pick, but we had traveled, were tired, it was late, and we actually stopped at several other nearby hotels and got back into the car because we didn't like the other places. So this review is relative to the other stops that were either dirty or felt unsafe. The first thing I liked was their customer service, we called the hotel from the road (late at night) and the front desk lady was super nice. She greeted us with the same attitude when we arrived. I also liked that they had a security guard who patrolled the grounds at night. Those things were about the highlight of the stay. Please remember, we arrived late at night-so we didn't see much of the grounds. Our room was located in a building towards the far back of the property. The building was old and felt like it was old. The carpets were worn and there was a musty smell to the entire building. Although the room was somewhat clean (surface clean), there was no escaping the musty smell. There were other features that just made the hotel and our room feel very old. The bathroom tiles were not very clean. The cap to the end of the hairdryer had popped off and was in the middle of the bathroom floor when we arrived. The tub was old- and had a standard shower curtain (some newer hotels have that curved bar for the shower curtain that provides more room-not this one). The furniture in the room was dated. The a/c filter could have been cleaned (it caused us to have allergy problems all night). The worst problem, however, was the noise level. We arrived fairly late. Even after our arrival, we heard noise most of the night. The walls were paper thin. Initially, we could hear a group near us talking and laughing loudly nearby. This went on for an hour or two. Later, it sounded like this group left- more talking, laughing, goodbyes, things moving in the hall, and car doors being shut- it sounded like they were all in the room with us. This was around 3:00 A.M. Under the circumstances, this hotel was better than some others nearby, but it felt more like a $50 hotel, not an $85 hotel. In the end, we were happy to find a hotel that felt safe and had friendly staff so that we could get off of the road.

Room Tip: Avoid the back building- the walls were paper thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I made reservations while on the road for arrival late that evening. Once we walked into our building, I suspected I hadn't made reservations at the correct hotel that had received glowing reviews. Turns out I intended to reserve Comfort Suites instead of the Clarion. The facility consisted of several rambling buildings; we were in the back building. We needed pet friendly because of traveling with a cat. Walking into the building's hallway, it reaked of deodorizer, as did the room, but that was almost pleasant compared to the strong odor of urine in the bathroom. Carpets in room and hallway were stained, bathroom tile was sticky, and entire facility was damp and smelly. I presumed that the rooms near ours were reserved for pets and that had somethng to do with smells & condition. The only bright spot was arriving shortly after 9 p.m. and needing a place to eat, and the connected restaurant "Austin's" was open until 10. Waitress was very pleasant, friendly, and efficient, and our steaks & coconut shrimp were welcomely acceptable. Oh, and the fact that the rates were cheap, and all we needed was a place to sleep while moving from IL to FL. But that's about it for positives. When writing this, we hadn't tried the breakfast yet, but my expectations are

Room Tip: Avoid rooms or buildings used by pets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The smell was awful in the hall way the carpet was dirty. Their were maggots and roaches, the trash wasn't empted out and smelled awful and the pool had bugs in it. The women that was in the breakfast room didn't have the right attitude for that, she acted like she really wasn't happy with certain people I didn't even return the next day for breakfast cause of her. MY OPINION FOR ANYONE IS TO NOT STAY THERE ITS NOT WORTH IT

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Conference Center

Address: 2101 W Hill Ave, Valdosta, GA 31601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Valdosta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Valdosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Clarion Inn & Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 137
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clarion Inn & Conference Center ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn & Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Conference Center
Clarion Hotel Valdosta
Comfort Inn Valdosta
Valdosta Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.