We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great pulled pork sandwich on texas toast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q
1701 Norman Drive, Valdosta, GA 31602
229-241-8090
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 199 Restaurants in Valdosta
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Family Fare, Sandwiches
Description: Sonny's BBQ offers a variety of barbeque meats, including St. Louis Cut Ribs and Sonny's Signature Baby Backs, Pulled Beef Brisket, Pulled and Sliced Pork, Sliced Turkey, and Chicken, all smoked slowly over a hardwood fire. Today, with 126 restaurants in nine southeastern states, Sonny's BBQ is one of the largest, most popular barbeque chains in the country. Our secret? We cook it up slow and serve it up fast and friendly.
Restaurant details
Description: Sonny's BBQ offers a variety of barbeque meats, including St. Louis Cut Ribs and Sonny's Signature Baby Backs, Pulled Beef Brisket, Pulled and Sliced Pork, Sliced Turkey, and Chicken, all smoked slowly over a hardwood fire. Today, with 126 restaurants in nine southeastern states, Sonny's BBQ is one of the largest, most popular barbeque chains in the country. Our secret? We cook it up slow and serve it up fast and friendly.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great pulled pork sandwich on texas toast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

This Sonny's is several miles off I75, but is a great way to breakup the ATL to FL drive. The pulled pork sandwich on Texas Toast is delicious, with enough pork for two people.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    3
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Very friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We are a BBQ eating family and when we are traveling regularly look for a BBQ restaurant to eat at. Sonny's is just average BBQ in our opinion. We stopped at this one with a group of 12 of us. The restaurant was averagely clean and the food was averagely good but I rated it above average because of the server we had. She was awesome! Our glasses stayed full, our food came out quickly, she was very friendly and funny!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Always good!! And their sides are Great!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

Always a family favorite... Good barbecue and delicious sides!!! Have always been a fan of their baked beans!!! Also this place is great for take out. Grab some to take home or to your next gathering!!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Would Recommend”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Menu had several choices in several different Smoked Meat Choices as well as several other options. Service was great although I arrived about 30 minutes before closing. Clean and friendly, would definitely return if I am ever back in town.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Needs a bit more focus on food quality and cleaning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

This is a pretty typical Sonny's but most of the food was over cooked - like it had been prepared for some time. And, a good overall cleaning for tables and floors would be a good idea.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny's Real Pit Bar-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.