We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bubba Jax Crab Shack

Bubba Jax Crab Shack
1700 West Hill ave. I 75, Exit 16, Valdosta, GA 31602
229-469-4368
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 207 Restaurants in Valdosta
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Sarasota, FL
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Friendly service and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

The fried oysters and fried shrimp were delicious, as well as the onion rings and cole slaw. The server had that wonderful southern hospitality, and we enjoyed the atmosphere. We highly recommend Bubba Jax!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    30
    7
    0
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntsville, Alabama
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We ate here on July 28,2014. We got there around 7 pm and they were not crowded. This is not a fancy place, but the food and service is good. I had fried oysters, slaw, and onion rings, all being good. My wife was not very hungry, so she had the crab cake appetizer with a side salad. There were two 3 ounce crab cakes which she enjoyed. Her salad was a standard garden salad. Overall we enjoyed the dinner. The only thing that we thought was mediocre were the hush puppies, which were not as good as what we are accustomed to in North Alabama and the Huntsville area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“What a great surprise just off I75 ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Wow. What a great place to eat, clean and friendly. Tons of locals eating here too. We had the bang shrimp app which was awesome and shrimp and catfish dinners. Both were fried but not greasy at all. Loved this place. Will be back. Also serve beer and wine. Wish they were closer to home. Owner, Brian seems really hands on. Hope your business is a wild success. Thanks

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Value, Homemade Foods, Excellent Service-Worth the Trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We are from the Jersey Shore, 1st timers to Bubbas and were looking for some good, down-home seafood offered at a local joint. On 7.22.14 (Tuesday night) we stopped in around 4:45PM and were immediately warmly greeted by the hostess, and then by a server, who gave us the rundown on all of the offerings, and she gladly noted the numerous homemade foods. All of the inside tables were occupied by the time we left.
Our choices included blackened shrimp (plump & juicy) fresh onion rings, homemade crab cake (2 large- loaded w/ crab you can see and taste) dinner, with slaw, veggies, red taters in juice and hush puppies. All of the food was hot, looked colorful, was fresh, and smelled appealing. We opted for ice tea, no drinks. Our server checked in often, but not hovering. We were just too stuffed to even consider any dessert selections.
Overall, worth the money, offers easy going atmosphere and does not even compare to the other "seafood" (Crystal Rest)., place in town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Georgia
1 review
“Bubbalicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Great food: fresh crawfish, fresh oysters, cold beer
Great service: Nickie took good care of our whole clan.
My family vacations in Valdosta once a year and BubbaJax is without a doubt our choice for seafood.
Outside dining is a little tight but certainly worth it.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubba Jax Crab Shack also viewed

 

Been to Bubba Jax Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bubba Jax Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.