We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale Feel at a Family Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drury Inn Suites Valdosta

Save Saved
You added Drury Inn Suites Valdosta to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Inn Suites Valdosta
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1327 N Saint Augustine Rd, Valdosta, GA 31601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Valdosta
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Upscale Feel at a Family Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Okay so maybe not entriely upscale, but this clean, attractively decorated, well run hotel off the Interstate was probably the nicest familt chain hotel I've stayed at in years. It also made me wonder why I've wasted so much money on boutique hotels while vacationing.

The front desk staff was young and obviously having a good time when I arrived. Unlike some reception desk staff who make you feel like a rude jerk for interfering in their fun ("can I have a room please?") they made a point of drawing guests into the fun and didn;t miss a beat. Checkin was fast and professional. Oh, and fun too for a change!

Whoever designed the hotel deserves an award for guest comfort and efficiency. My (super comfy) King room was spotless and more than ample for a single or couple travelling with moderate amounts of luggage. The decor is modern mid-range chain, but the room was so well laid out it felt like a more expensive hotel (my last minute rate booked while driving into town was $113). For example, the large flat panel TV was actually close enough to the bed that I could see a show with the volume turned down to a normal level; the shower (not a dirty tub) was large enough for two people, had a clean curtain (vs. a moldy glass/plastic enclosude), and contained soap/shampoo/conditioner dispensers (very 'green', which I applaud!!!); and there was still room for a computer desk and chair/setee to boot.

The walls of the rooms must be well insulated too. The hotel was crowded and a young family was staying next door, but with the exception of a few front door slams I never heard other people, a tv or toilet flush, or a shower run.

They also have a happy hour that will make families travelling on a budget very happy. Drinkers too. From 5-7 you can have 3 free drinks per day (wine, beer, and pretty good cocktails), unlimited hot dogs, make-it-yourself nachos, baked potato bar, simple veggies, soup, and soda. Sorry Hampton Inn and HI Express, the happy hour at the Drury has your chocolate chip cookies beat by a mile :-)

I also enjoyed the fact that this location has heated indoor and outdoor pools and a jacuzzi. All were clean and well maintained.

Breakfast is also free, but virtually identical to every other quality chain: waffle maker, fresh fruit, cereal, etc. In other TA reviews I see this is a big deal and I'm not complaining. A well laid out breakfast spread is a great value, but since I spend 30-50 nights a year on the road a waffle maker and unlimited orange juice is nothing special.

In summary, this is a delightful place to stop on the GA/FL border that I can highly recommend. "Well done" to the management and staff at the Drury Inn Valdosta.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    142
    24
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
83
48
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kentucky, USA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

After 14 hours in the car, this was a very welcomed stop over on our way to Orlando. The hotel is new, very clean. Staff friendly. We stayed in a King Suite, very nice and very comfortable. Slept well and beds comfy.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

After 14 hours on the road it was nice to arrive at this property and find it was very new. The place was completely booked so it was a good thing we had two rooms reserved. Desk was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Nice shower with dispensers for shampoo and soap so no little bottles or hard to open soap bars. Beds were comfortable too. Breakfast was better than the average "free" breakfast at this level hotel but the staff was clearly not prepared for a full house as many food items were out of stock for some time. Some staff seemed less than helpful during this rush and appeared to be sitting and surfing their phone while chaos was going on around them with tables needing busing etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monclova, Ohio
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stopped over on our way down 75 headed to Florida. This hotel was very busy but didn't bother us a bit. It was very clean and the rooms were huge. The extras were well worth the cost for our family with the free food and drinks in the evening as well as the excellent breakfast. The free soft drinks and soda also make a great evening snack. The pool was tons of fun for our kids too. The hotel had plenty of space for everyone there and we loved it. Will surely stop again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stayed this past Friday night on way home from spring break. Did not get to participate in any of the food thay was offered, as we arrived too late and left too early. The room seemed brand new and was perfectly clean. The bathroom was very nice and clean as well. We stayed on the 3rd floor in the middle of the hallway and we heard no exterior noise from other rooms or the hallway. I though that was amazing as the hotel was at capacity thay night. The only negative was one elevator seemed to not be working, and that caused a back up in the lobby that evening. I highly recommend, and I will try and stay here again when traveling through.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vincennes, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed here on our way home from Florida. At the georgia visitors center/rest area they made us reservations here for $79 a night. What a deal for a brand new hotel. We didn't get there in time for the free evening food or drinks, but we found popcorn and soft drinks available. Breakfast was a little crowded but worth the wait for a table to sit at. This place is worth a stop if you are driving this way.

Room Tip: Watch the floor in front of the elevators for water. Kids track water from the pool across the floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What an amazing hotel!! If I have the opportunity to stay at a Drury Inn & Suites every again, anywhere, I will do it!! The evening cocktails also includes hot food (pizza, pasta, etc.), which is a great value!!! The front desk staff was exceptional, constantly telling us how much they appreciated us and how much they appreciated us staying with them. Our room was beautiful (we stayed in a 2 room suite), clean and looked brand new. The beds, including the pull-out, were very comfortable!! My mom had a cold when we stayed here, and my dad went to the front desk to see if he could get honey to make her a hot toddie - not only did they give my dad honey, but also a large cup of boiling water (saying "don't wait for that coffee maker in your room to heat up!! When you're sick, you want relief right away!!") and with wishes for my mom to feel better. The breakfast the next morning was also great - eggs, waffles, bacon, potatoes, toast, fruit, yogurt, etc. What an amazing place!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Drury Inn Suites Valdosta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Inn Suites Valdosta

Address: 1327 N Saint Augustine Rd, Valdosta, GA 31601
Location: United States > Georgia > Valdosta
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 hotels in Valdosta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Inn Suites Valdosta 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Extras Aren't Extra at Drury Hotels! Our guests can enjoy free hot breakfast, free hot food and cold beverages at the 5:30 Kickback, free wireless Internet access in all rooms and throughout the hotel, free long distance calls and free popcorn and soda in the lobby daily. An indoor/outdoor swimming pool and whirlpool are available for guest use, along with an on-site 24-hour fitness center. A microwave and refrigerator can be found in all rooms. Drury is family owned and operated so you can expect the same great value, friendly service and cleanliness at every location. We look forward to having you as our guest! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Drury Inn Suites Valdosta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drury Inn Suites Valdosta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.