We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mexican cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Cazador

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
El Cazador
1600 No. Ashely Street, Valdosta, GA 31602
229-333-0554
Improve this listing
Ranked #110 of 199 Restaurants in Valdosta
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The food at El Cazador is excellent. Especially in its favor is its location near downtown, so it is not usually that crowded. Try the Al Pastor.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    1
    4
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, Georgia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Staff is friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

this was a good experience over all. we ordered the fajitias and they needed some seasonings!! It was kinda bland. but the other food we tried from others in out party was great. The staff was friendly and the food come out fast!! The beer was ice cold! I recconmmend this place to anyone looking for a great place to gather and enjoy yourself. Great location near the college!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Tex-Mex without a smile”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We wanted to try this place to make a comparison with some other Mexican food available in the area, and it was off the mark in a couple of important ways. There is an extensive menu - though featuring too many 'specials' to feel that they are truly 'special' - and the reasonably Mexican food was vigorously spiced and promptly served. The biggest disappointment for us, though, was the service, which was American with Mexican pronunciation, but lacking any sort of warmth or hospitality. As a consequence, I doubt that we'll be back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Uh, not sure what the hype was about...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

My husband and I took our kids here on a few recommendations from friends and were disappointed. The service was lovely, which made the food a bit more tasty, but beyond that, it was not what I would call good Mexican food. My tamales had the cornmeal outside undercooked (didn't know you could do that), and my husband commented after we left that his food was less than average. The total price for all five of us was around $35, which was wonderful, but I think I will make my Mexican food cravings wait to be satisfied until we get to Houston to visit family. Overall, price and service were good, but food was just not worth it.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great food, reasonable prices.. and a well stocked bar.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

El Cazador (The Hunter) opened in May. I now understand the why the parking lot is full. The menu is quite extensive and prepared ah, so very fresh.
They don’t mind substituting or adding to your order. I had them put both red and green (verde) sauce on my chicken enchiladas - which were stuffed with white chicken meat. First class.
My friend had the Shrimp skewered Alambres, with green peppers, onion and rice. It was fantastic! She got 12 med-large shrimp plus rice and beans, a great deal for only $11.00.
This place does it right. A full bar with a good selection of tequilas and other spirits, They also have a pretty good selection of children's dishes for only $3.99.
Inside has appeasing hand-painted murals, that are very pleasing to the eye. They have Wi-F (no code needed). T.V.’s are not intrusive and placed where you can watch or not, and not blaring. El Cazador also has a well designed patio if weather permits.
All-in-all, this would be my 1st choice for Mexican cuisine (yes, I said cuisine) in Valdosta. A very pleasant experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cazador also viewed

 

Been to El Cazador? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Cazador, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.