We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You'll alway get a good meal!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel Old Country

Cracker Barrel Old Country
1195 N Saint Augustine Rd, Valdosta, GA 31601
(229) 244-5258
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 188 Restaurants in Valdosta
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Webb City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“You'll alway get a good meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We frequent Cracker Barrels quite frequently, especially on Thursdays for the turkey meal special. Cracker Barrel has changed its menu a lot lately, but has many of the old favorites on the menu still.
We had the pork chop. We hadn't had that before and it was very good, as expected.
Our waitress, upon coming out of the kitchen, lit up with a big smile when she saw someone was sitting in her section. She was very attentive to us even though there was a small tour bus seated in some of her section. She took care of everyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    16
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Mississippi
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Down home cooking.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I love eating at Cracker Barrell. I love the fried apples and dumplings the best. If ubever want the perfect sweet tea. They have it here.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Diversity Rules”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Cracker Barrel seems to be practically in every state in the U.S. There is good reason business has been good for them for so many years. I really appreciate the option of having either lunch or dinner. I love the biscuits, grilled chicken salad; pancakes so so since they have a heavily greasy kinda taste not bad but, I have to be in the mood for that kind of pancake. But any way a really nice plus is there consistent great service. Which maybe due to wanting to change the opinion of some that remember the issues they had in the far past about racial prejudice..

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hahira, Georgia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“It's lost that homey feeling.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Well once upon a time it was log fires in winter, a cozy feel, hot and generous food made VERY well, and wonderful servers that made you feel so relaxed. Now it is as many people as can be crammed in, no fire, everything from the attitude of the servers to the food is RUSHED, and the food is somewhat less than good. After they served my son a bowl of ice cold and rock hard oatmeal, and my partner found egg shells in his sunny side up, we decided to seriously curtail our urges to eat here.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not up to snuff for Cracker Barrel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We have been going to Cracker Barrel for years. As a rule, the chain is consistently good. You can count on the fact that Cracker Barrel in Missouri tastes the same as in Georgia, Alabama, or anywhere else. However, this restaurant is an exception to that rule. I would not stop back to the Valdosta Cracker Barrel again, and unfortunately it may be awhile before I am willing to stop at ANY Cracker Barrel again, due to this experience.

We were on our way through Valdosta and stopped around 8:00PM on Thu., Mar. 21, 2013, for a late dinner. After washing up, we were seated by 8:15PM. The restaurant was not busy (we were one of fewer than 10 tables), but we didn't see a waiter for nearly 20 min. (the table seated after us actually had their meal order taken before we could catch the attention of a waiter to even give a drink order).

Three of the four of us decided to take advantage of the all-day breakfast. Our order didn't come until after 9:00PM (at which time the aforementioned table that was seated after us had already completed their meal), and when it finally came, it was wrong, which took another 10-15 min. to correct. The food was undercooked, had an off taste, and we didn't see our waiter again until he dropped our bill on the table.

About a half-hour down the road, my wife began to experience bad stomach cramps and became extremely ill. We ended up having to call it a night on our trip home quite a bit earlier than we had originally planned.

This was a very disappointing experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel Old Country also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel Old Country? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel Old Country, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.