We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of my favorites to visit again and again.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ichiban

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ichiban
2965 North Ashley Street, Valdosta, GA
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 197 restaurants in Valdosta
Cuisines: Japanese
Description: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/316/1421946/restaurant/Ichiban-Japanese-Steak-House-Valdosta
Restaurant details
Description: http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/316/1421946/restaurant/Ichiban-Japanese-Steak-House-Valdosta
Hahira, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“One of my favorites to visit again and again.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ichiban is a blast! You can either enjoy a quiet dinner in the sushi bar area (and what sushi!!! AMAZING!! So fresh and so generous! They definitely pay attention to the RICE which is what sushi is all about!), or you can enjoy a spirited dining experience at one of the hibachi grills manned by chefs with WONDERFUL personalities to go with their flashy skills. The kids get the biggest kick out of the hibachi and the chefs seem to love making the kids ooh and ahh and squeal. They really get involved with the patrons. I can't say enough about this place but maybe knowing that I now only visit there frequently, I also order it take out when I can't be there, should say how wonderful they are.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

60% Recommend
    6
    3
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Vestal, New York
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Not what we had hoped for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Our evening started out with a very warm welcome at Ichiban, the seater escorted us to our table, and made sure we were comfortable. The server (waitress) was there shortly aferwards to take our drink order and answer any questions we had. Our drinks arrived, and she took our order. They did not have a meal for two, but the server recommended the "Ichiban". followed her recommendation and ordered the "Ichiban". We also had two small children with us and ordered a child's meal to be split between them. The server repeated our order back to us, making sure she had it very clear for the chef to prepare. We were impressed with her concern for our evening.

The chef showed up to prepare our meal, we asked him not to do the big flame portion of the meal, because one of the children was afraid of the fire. What he said floored us..."Why did you come here then?". Our daughter-in-law has an allergy to sesame seeds, so to prevent a trip to the emergency room, we asked him not to use them. Again he said "Why did you here then?".

He did a good job of preparing the meal, even though his showmanship left a little to be desired. When serving my son and his wife, he gave all of the meat to our son, after we had asked it be split between my son and his wife, based on the server's recommendation.

After he had prepared all of the meals, we asked him where the steak was for our granddaughters... he said he cooked it with our son's and his wife's meal.

He then walked away. We were dumbfounded., the waitress noticed our confusion, and came over, we explained what had just taken place, and she immediately had another chef prepare our grand daughters' steak. The server looked as annoyed with the chef that prepared our meal as we were.

Yes, we did get our meals, yes, the food was good, but... we probably will not go back there.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Warm welcome, good sushi menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Located a little out of the town centre in a large and slightly run-down building, Ichiban serves up a better experience than might be expected at first glance. The sushi menu is varied, and there are sufficient alternatives to the seafood. The soups and salads are decent. The service is friendly, and the nature of the building means there is usually plenty of space - though some redecoration may be called for. It isn't a thoroughly Japanese experience, but there are sufficient elements to give it a decent Japanese flavour.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesboro, Georgia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Excellent Sushi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food and service at Ichiban's is excellent. We go whenever we are in Valdosta. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our new favorite sushi restaurant in Valdosta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We have ordered take out here multiple times and have always been pleased. More recently we have been dining in and have always had excellent service. The sushi is great and the presentation very nice. The sushi bar area is roomy and we are always able to get a good sized table. Would definitely recommend.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ichiban? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ichiban, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.