We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, lit dimly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bistro

The Bistro
132 N Ashley St, Valdosta, GA 31601-5577
229-253-1253
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #40 of 200 Restaurants in Valdosta
Price range: $9 - $26
Cuisines: American
Description: Enjoy fine American cuisine in a relaxed setting for all occasions, from a romantic evening to an anniversary party. The Bistro Restaurant and Bar serves a varied menu of new American cuisine, classics and daily specials, featuring the best seasonal products available. Enjoy delicious desserts, an extensive selection of appetizers, a full bar, and superb wine service all in the warmth and elegance of our main dining room that surrounds our guests in an intimate and romantic atmosphere, creating a unique and elegant American dining experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Enjoy fine American cuisine in a relaxed setting for all occasions, from a romantic evening to an anniversary party. The Bistro Restaurant and Bar serves a varied menu of new American cuisine, classics and daily specials, featuring the best seasonal products available. Enjoy delicious desserts, an extensive selection of appetizers, a full bar, and superb wine service all in the warmth and elegance of our main dining room that surrounds our guests in an intimate and romantic atmosphere, creating a unique and elegant American dining experience.
Valdosta, Georgia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good food, lit dimly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

We visited early on a weekend evening and the restaurant was quiet. There are tables outside for open-air dining but we chose a table indoors to get away from the heat, even though the dining room was lit rather poorly. The menu was good, however, and the service was prompt. The food also turned out to be good quality and well presented. An extra side dish of vegetables is recommended if you're really hungry. The adjoining bar seemed to be lighter and more of a 'scene', with live music on the go.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

This restaurant was great when it first opened years ago but due to neglect by the owner the food and service have gone way down. The entrees were a joke. They covered all of them with the same sauce. The seafood tasted frozen and then cooked, No freshness to it. The waiter would check on you then leave empty bottles just sitting on the table. Not sure if the waiter knew what he was doing. Couldn't get out of the place fast enough. Will not be back until I talk to a local that has a good experience. None of the 4 of us had a decent meal. Sad....

  • Visited March 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“A very good restaurant discovered when we least expected it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

While driving last summer from Florida to North Carolina we stayed overnight in a chain hotel in Valdosta about half way. What a surprise to discover this very good restaurant in the old historic downtown section. And we could not believe how inexpensive this fine meal was. Half of what we would have paid in Florida for food not as good. Very nice choice of entrees to choose from, and such a pleasant room with exposed brick walls and tables far apart. Not the usual boring fried or greasy "southern cooking" we have learned to expect in much of the south but rather fine cuisine, cooked with fresh ingredients. We couldn't have been more pleased at our discovery.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdosta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Love the food and the friendly smiles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Great location, downtown which is only two minutes from the Hampton INn and Suites and was in the mist of fabulous art galleries and the wonderful shops available open at night to visit. The food was fabulous and the service as well. I will be back!!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“hit or miss”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

I visited this place twice, and the experience was very different. The first time, I ordered a seafood dish, not very special at all, given the price you are paying. The second time, I ordered a meat dish, it was very good. I guess this is not a place for seafood, but the meat dishes are fine. The atmosphere is very nice and the service is great too.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.