We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great southern barbecue.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smok'n Pig B-B-Q

Smok'n Pig B-B-Q
Exit 22, Valdosta, GA
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 200 Restaurants in Valdosta
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: Phone 229-245-8BBQ - it looked like it had just opened
Valdosta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great southern barbecue.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My sons and I enjoy eating here. There's plenty of parking and inside is clean and comfortable. Most of the time the service is really good and the portions of food are large.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    115
    40
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“If you can only eat at one place in Valdosta, this is it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We have been here before and knew it was the one place we had to go again. This place is big, clean, has great staff, and yummy food. Barbecue isn't the only thing they have but it is the best. Any meal is going to be too much except for the heartiest eaters. You can't go wrong with Smok'n Pig BBQ.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Not for vegans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Great staff as soon as you enter. Our server was so bubbly it spread to us in a heartbeat.
You can have all the meat you need in one place. This place is not a place for vegans for sure.
The ribs were fall off the bone and the pulled pork had such a nice flavor and wetness. You have your choice of sauce or you can go without. You really don't need any sauces because the seasonings on the meat or the smoking process leaves a wonderful flavor. This has to be one of the best bbq restaurants we have found so far in south Georgia. We will keep looking for one better but this holds the top spot for now.The kids loved the mac and cheese.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A Good Pit Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is the second time that we have grabbed food here to go while traveling I-75. We have had the brisket sandwich and the pulled pork sandwich. One was better than the other at each time. I enjoyed the sides. It looks like a good place to dine inside but we were trying to make some time and did not want to sit and wait. We actually ate our food outside just to get some fresh air and sun and to stretch our legs. Nice travel lunch. Next time we will call ahead and have our order ready but even then the wait for take out is not that bad. They look like they are pretty good about getting you in and out even though the place is packed.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thank you, Nancy, for superior service! Road trippers, Stop here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

Sunday lunch was very good. As the previous reviews state, portions are plentiful. Our group had ribs, pulled pork sandwich, steak and brisket sandwich. All were good, ribs were best. As far as sides, macaroni and cheese was good. We were not impressed with the beans, brunswick stew or the salad bar selection (basic). Food was definitely good enough that we would visit, again. Just not too sure about all the hype and bragging! Sets high expectations, too... Also, do not worry about saving room for the peach cobbler. You would not be missing much. However, kids did love the soft serve ice cream which they can help themselves to. There's a nice selection of t-shirts for the tourist or bbq lover in you. Shirts reasonably priced, got one for about $10. Really important to note that all the staff from hostess to little gift shop area were friendly. We received oustanding service from the minute we sat down from Nancy. She was quick, pleasant, on top of refills, made recommendations when asked and knew the menu well. It was a great stop for lunch before heading back on the road.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smok'n Pig B-B-Q also viewed

 

Been to Smok'n Pig B-B-Q? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smok'n Pig B-B-Q, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.