We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Tybee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundae Cafe

Sundae Cafe
304 First Street, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 7694
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Tybee Island
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best of Tybee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Lived up to the reviews. Awesome food, service, decor, wines. An oasis on Tybee.
Fabulous elk, filets, pistachio crusted ahi, scallops over lobster Mac. While a smidge short of the 'life changing' billing, certainly soul satisfying. Weakest dish was an oversized seafood cheesecake appetizer - big as an entree shared by four with leftover.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    586
    137
    39
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ask Alex what to Order, Go for the Filet”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is a dining establishment that you don't judge by it's neighbors, tucked between a Gas Station and a Liquor Store, Sundae Cafe can be enjoyed every day of the week.

We did not intend to order a Filet but based on the recommendation of Alex we did. This is the Perfection of Filets, perfectly cooked, flavored, seasoned, and it was cut with very little effort from the butter knife, no steak knife required. We split the entree and it was perfect for two if you order two of their appetizers.

The starters were the Seafood Cheesecake and the Lobster Bisque. Again, highly recommended by Alex and worth every bite. The Bisque was again perfection and the cheesecake was truly excellent.

The desserts consisted of a slice of Reese, phenomenal, and the Coconut, also very good.

Their nightly specials are truly intriguing, an Elk Steak for example, will add a little out of town flavor to your plate if you decide to indulge.

The inside dining atmosphere and the service were superb. Ask Alex what to order that night and when in doubt, go for the Filet.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville NC
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

For our last evening, we booked Sundae. We found it to be an excellent "going away" treat.

The chefs are both JSW trained, the wait staff is very knowledgeable and professional in their delivery and the food was better than we experienced at one of the top ranked Savannah restaurants. We started with the seafood Quiche, had a lobster mac and pork chop for entrees (the bleu cheese bread pudding with the glazed pork chop was wonderful and even the succotash was different than any I had ever had) and finished with an excellent key lime pie. Portions are large, so we enjoyed the left-overs the next night...and they were still almost as good.
I'd make reservations. It's a popular local site for all the locals..

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Hidden little gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Excellent seafood, place doesn't look like much from outside. It's in a strip mall with a gas station. No parking. Metered at the street. Shrimp po-boy and crab sandwich. Both very good. Has a bar and lots of wine!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A hidden gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We would never have found the Sundae Cafe had it not been for a friends recommendation. What a loss it would have been! The Sundae Cafe is in a little strip mall attached to a gas station. When you walk it in is a transformation to the cutest little cafe. They have specials every day and local seafood. The food was very good and the staff courteous and friendly. We had oysters, scallops and shrimp and were not dissappointed. Country fried steak and turkey dinner were some of the specials and while I didn't get to taste it, I could tell it was wonderful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundae Cafe also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sundae Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundae Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.