We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get there early......” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundae Cafe

Sundae Cafe
304 First Street, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 7694
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 46 Restaurants in Tybee Island
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Gainesville, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get there early......”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were among the first customers on a Friday for lunch. By the time we finish 30-45 minutes later there was a serious line inside and outside. I'm told it's always like this so get there just before they open if you can. I had the BLT sandwich but the T was Fried Green Tomatoes which is the reason I was there. I saw enough plates to know that everything looks and smells good so (maybe) I'll try something else next time. The green tomatoes were divine and the best part is the bacon was as good as I've ever enjoy and was my sandwich was loaded with that bacon. Couldn't go wrong with my choice. This is not a place to sit and enjoy a cup of coffee when your finished eating. They don't rush you at all but I knew there were loads of people trying to get in and we left happy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    137
    39
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Westborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Seek this place out; it is excellent.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

We stopped by for lunch based solely on prior reviews. The food was excellent, service friendly, and price very reasonable. The cafe sits under a plain sign on a strip mall behind a set of gas pumps, but once you step through the door, you see that the tables have white cloth tablecloths and are nicely spaced to allow for private table conversations. You won't be sorry you chose it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gfsu
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Amazing find on tybee, don't let the exterior fool you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013 via mobile

Wow so impressed with this place, be sure to make a reservation. We arrived at 5:45 and the place was already full but we were able to get a spot at the bar. The chopped salad was great, lobster Mac with scallops was great and my blackened shrimp and grits was great. Menu is great and for the quality it was quite reasonable. We will be back

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The BEST!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Without a doubt, the Sundae Cafe is the best place to eat on Tybee Island. All of the locals, including the police department, line up for their daily lunch specials which are just like mom used to make. Home-cooking at it's best. And, the dinner menu is first class fare. Their black and blue burger is my favorite, but anything you choose will not disappoint. You definitely need to book a reservation for dinner, because their secret is out.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, TN
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“cute”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Is a cafe during the day... good food and turns into a table clothe and wine glass place at night. Met some interesting folks.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundae Cafe also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sundae Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundae Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.