We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strip Mall Jewel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sundae Cafe

Sundae Cafe
304 First Street, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 7694
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 48 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Neptune Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Strip Mall Jewel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Following the recommendation of a Tybee Island local, we decided to try out this place for lunch. We are so glad we did and will definitely return on our next visit. The grouper sandwich was fresh and delicious and the fish taco was packed with so many good things and favors .It was so large we could have shared it. We took Reese's pie to go because we were stuffed and it was great. The dinner menu looked like it was full of wonderful possibilities. Parking is a problem. Thankful we were not towed, but it would have been worth it after after our yummy lunch.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    158
    45
    14
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“OH WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

we made reservations because I had read prior reviews that suggested we do so. My friend had the duck which was not to his liking but my seafood platter was the most delicious food I had ever had. Everything from the presentation and the portion size was excellent. Though they sat us in an odd 2 person table which I think was because of our last minute reservation, and also because it is in a plaza next to the liquor store, I am thoroughly impressed with them. We had calamari for appetizer and the house tossed salad we ordered was huge enough that we shared it. Do yourself a favor and try it once...

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnsville, Minnesota
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Extraordinary burgers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We ordered smokehouse burger and mushroom Swiss burgers. Both burgers were just great. Smokehouse burger was probably the best burger I ever had. Sundae cafe is located in a strip mall. Do not let location fool you. Try it and you will like it. Rather large burgers.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, GA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Looks can be deceiving!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have eaten at the Sundae Café on Tybee Island several times. Each time, we have come away thinking “Wow!” The Sundae Café is a small up-scale up-scale restaurant, with great service, fantastic food, but without upscale prices.

At first glance, it is a little deceiving. The name makes you think it is an ice cream parlor. Then there is the location. It is crammed into a tiny strip shopping center next to a convenience story/gas station. Then there is Tybee Island, which better known for being the home flip-flops and the annual Beach Bum Parade than a high end tourist resort. But don’t let the looks deceive you. The Sundae Café delivers a very nice (white table cloth) experience for lunch and dinner at very reasonable prices.

Our most recent trip there was for lunch. My wife and I both had one of the lunch specials, fried grouper fingers and grits. There was also a range of other lunch options, sandwiches, salads, and so on. I think our bill for two, with tax, ice tea and tip, came to less than $20.
We have also been there for dinner several times. Their Cajun style spicy shrimp and grits are to die for. The menu also has a good range of other dishes, both seafood and not, and usually a couple of daily specials. Most of their entrees are priced in the teens, with the steaks in the 20s.

Full bar and a wine list.

We would give the Sundae Café a very strong recommendation. We’ll be back.

http://www.sundaecafe.com/

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
2 reviews
“No doubt, best food on Tybee Island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Sundae Cafe, without a doubt, serves the best food on Tybee Island; and for that matter, in the whole Savannah area. Whether it be from their lunch or dinner menu or from their specials, you can tell their food is prepared by professional chefs. Sundae's is the place we choose for our special dinners out. But be sure to plan ahead and make reservations a day or two ahead of time, even during the week and even throughout the winter. Locals recognize Sundae's as the best, so it fills up most every night.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sundae Cafe also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sundae Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sundae Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.