We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun place, good atmosphere. So-so food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Fannie's on the Beach

Fannie's on the Beach
1613 Strand, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912-786-6109
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 50 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
80 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fun place, good atmosphere. So-so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Being in Tybee with the kids, this is an obvious place to swing by nad grab something for lunch. We came by the place twice, once at a weekend when we were seated upstairs on the open deck and the second time down on the sidewalk. Upstairs is best - it's more fun and whacky. The place is kid friendly but the kids menu is limited (it's hard to go anywhere where the kids main courses have anything other than fries, I guess). The Philly cheese steak sub that I had the first time was nice enough but nothing special, likewise the burger I had the second time. The kids loved the popcorn shrimp - and it IS nice to be able to drink a beer sitting on the sidewalk. Second time out the service was rather slow, though. Two tables both got their meals before us even though they ordered a good ten minutes afterwards, with one table getting both appetiser and main plate (which was a pizza, which the menu warns takes extra time!) out before ours arrived. We did all enjoy the Key Lime pie, though!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    169
    106
    61
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had delicious food and great service. The nachos are amazing! We ordered a burger, onion rings, Philly cheesesteak, club sandwich, fries, and the coconut shrimp. Everything we had was great and the service was fantastic. I'm sure we will be coming back next time we're in town.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bad service; mediocre food!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We happened by for lunch this weekend and were very disappointed. Our server took our order and disappeared for 30 minutes. The orders came out wrong and the server made all sort of excuses about the kitchen being extra busy with Pirate festival instead of just correcting it. The fish tacos came out cold: the wraps were cold and the fish was cold and all we got were more excuses. And lastly, I am convinced that they water the liquor! I had a rum and coke and my hubby had a long beach tea and there was barely a few drops of liquor in either one.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst Service in Tybee”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

-Hostess was terrible (made us wait when it was first come first serve).
-Waitress was not attentive (saw her twice, drink order & bill).
-Waited 30 mins for BAD food. (No flavor chicken tenders & fries).

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great after beach lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My family and I visit Tybee quite often and this is our at the beach lunch spot everytime. My wife and I have been going here for years and we are now passing it along to our son

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fannie's on the Beach also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Fannie's on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fannie's on the Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.