We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivers End Campground and RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Save
You added Rivers End Campground and RV Park to your Saves list
5 Fort Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Direct for Best Rate
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Perfect location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

What a perfect and blissful vacation! If you are looking for a quiet, convenient, low key vacation spot, this is it! Although this campground is small, its size adds to part of its charm. Located at the north end of Tybee Island, it makes it much easier to maneuver an RV, rather than drive through the village. It is a short walk to the beach, lighthouse, shopping, and restaurants. I cannot wait to return to Tybee, and would definately recommend staying here at Rivers End to anyone looking for a relaxing island escape!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    49
    24
    11
    15
See reviews for
59
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Your tent camping options in the Savannah area are extremely limited - as far as we could tell you have only two. You're not coming here for the natural vistas; you're coming because it's one of two camping spots close to Savannah.

First, the upsides. The campground is located very near the beach and is a short walk to rustic boutiques and interesting watering holes on the main road into Tybee Island. The campground staff is pleasant, extremely helpful and accommodating. The washrooms are clean and a short walk from any site. The pool looked clean although we didn't spend any time in it. Firewood was readily available on the perimeter of the property. You get a steady breeze at night from the nearby ocean which was pleasant and you can often hear the surf when the wind blows the right way.

As far as a camping experience, however, it isn't really ideal for tents. Almost all the the tent sites are right on top of each other. You have your own table and fire ring but you're so close to the next site that you're basically sharing sites with strangers, almost akwardly. So forget about privacy. There isn't any. The property is maximized for RV use and nearly every square foot has been developed; there are no natural shields between tent sites. The property is situated in a residential and industrial zone and one of the tent sections backs up immediately to some sort of yard with industrial clutter plainly visible. The other tent section is simply an open field. If you have an issue with raccoons invading your site (we didn't) you'll want to take precautions. The arcade isn't much fun for kids - two of the games were out of order. Lastly, the primitive sites are a bit pricey considering the value.

If you want to camp near Savannah you might try the state park first but this will do if you aren't too particular.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Village, Indiana
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

This was our first time visiting the Savannah area. We are so glad we decided to stay on Tybee Island. Rivers End Campground is great! At check-in, our hostess changed our site to accommodate a problem we were having with our leveling jacks. Later, when I had trouble getting the cable TV to work, Cindy came right over to our site and showed me a switch I needed to change on the antenna booster. What a gem! The park, itself is nicely layed out, clean, level, and the bathrooms (each is a complete private bathroom with sink, shower and toilet) are clean and bright. What more could we want? It's an easy walk to the beach and the lighthouse from the campground and a short drive to the business area. We spent the first two days on the island itself. Dined at Coco's, visited Fort Pulaski, walked on the beach - right through the bird refuge area, and toured the town. We'll, finally, venture into Savannah tomorrow. Yes, the price is a little high, but, we're right off the beach and a short drive from Savannah; you pay for that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denison, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed 1 night in a 35' 5th wheel. I would probably rate this campground a 4 or 5 if were not for the "discounted" price of $57.50. We have stayed in campgrounds that pricey (and more), but they are always much more modern, pristine and better layed out. I'm sure the price is due to the location (the island is beautiful), and they are probably the only campground on the Island, and not far (though not on) the beach. The campground is attractive, but neither the sites nor roads are paved. The bathrooms are clean, but old and "worn" looking. We had planned to stay a couple days, but left after one day, partly because of the rainy weather, but also because of the price vs. what you get for the money. $30-40 would have been a much more reasonable, even considering the location. If you want to RV camp on the island, this is the place to be. You will enjoy the campground, and the island, but they've got you because they're the only game in town.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time camping on Tybee!
The campground was full ( spring break) and pretty tight. It was nice though, good bathhouses, nice little store on site! The pool was undergoing repairs but looked like it would be nice! It was a nice walk to the beach, savannah river and the lighthouse! What irritates me is the parking meters everywhere on the island,even Arby's- are you kidding me? I'm sure they make enough revenue through straight up tourism so why nickel and dime us to death! Small rant, anyway, the campground was a good value and people were nice and helpful! My only complaint is the extra fee for kids and visitors! You can only have a three person family and you pay a small fee per day per person over their magic family number- who camps with three people? They do give discounts for several things, AAA, veterans etc. This helps comp for that crazy extra person fee!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

The River's End camp ground was pleasant. There were a lot of campers but everyone was friendly. The shower/restroom area was clean and very nice. I think that they have it cleaned twice a day. The office/gift shop offers free coffee from 9am until noon everyday. The campground is also located to a beautiful light house and the beach is within walking distance and is actually not packed with people.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The park was clean and the staff very helpful. We checked in after dark and they had a person to escort us to our site. Due to a combination of low hanging trees on some roads in the park, very narrow lots, very narrow roads, people parking their toad or tow vehicle partway into the road, it is a very difficult park to maneuver in for a big rig. It took some work to finally pull into our space. Some of the spaces that are pull through are on a side street with a good bit of traffic including garbage trucks and city maintenance trucks. If you can, get a space off of the street for a quieter stay. Two beaches are close for walking or bicycling.

Room Tip: Try to get a space that is not located on the side street. The road noise can be considerable in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivers End Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers End Campground and RV Park

Address: 5 Fort Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tybee Island
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River's End is Tybee Island's only campground. We are 3 blocks to the beach and 16 miles from historic Savannah. We offer campsites for tent campers, RV's and we have cabin rentals. See you under the oaks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivers End Campground And Rv Park Hotel Tybee Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivers End Campground and RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.