We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience !!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rivers End Campground and RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tybee Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rivers End Campground and RV Park
Save
You added Rivers End Campground and RV Park to your Saves list
5 Fort Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012 via mobile

We were at Rivers End for the entire month of February. The staff were very friendly and helpful the entire month. The campground itself is very nice with Spanish moss hanging from the trees. Yes, some of the sites are tight, but look at where you are at... Tybee Island!! The Island is really a neat place. Very clean, beaches are very nice, and the locals are very welcoming. The campground is NOT a Resort, but very well run and clean. Yes, the wifi did go in and out, but not bad enough to ruin our vacation. If you want a RV Resort... keep going down the road to find one. If you want a nice campground near the beach on an AWESOME Island, come here !!! We loved this place and are planning on coming back next year!!

Stayed February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    45
    22
    10
    15
See reviews for
57
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

We decided at the last minute before leaving on our trip to camp instead of paying for an expensive hotel room. The space we had was perfect for just the two of us. We had an escort to show us to our site. Although there was only 4 restrooms/showers on our side of the park, they were clean and great quality for a campground. The only thing negative I might say about the park is because it's also an RV park, they placed us where there are mostly RVs. But then we were only there for a couple of days and really spent more time away from the grounds then most people would normally. If you plan to stay longer, request that you be placed around more tents (if tent camping) or in the primitive area. This is NOT a state park, just a campground, so it is more crowded in the non-primitive areas.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishopville
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We were moved three times from our original site, booked last year. Found out if one of the regulars wants your site they just move you. We got the smallest sites there. Couldn't open awning for trees. Fire pit five feet from front door. If we could have we would have left. No refunds! Asked for empty sites refused. There were never filled while we were there a week. Not friendly in office. Won't go back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
social circle, ga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed over the Easter Weekend. Campsites are close, but trees make it very shaded. The bath house were very nice and clean. Beach was about a 3 block walk, or riverside beach was closer. My kids enjoyed playing bingo at the Pavillion with Mrs. Dot and enjoyed the movie night. The pool was very nice and open with pool chairs. For our first time to the beach it was great!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The ATL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

Two trips in March of 2012. Only problem is quiet hour is not enforced. Noisy, drunks kept us up. I know sometimes folks are up after 10 PM, but up after 1 AM. Don't go on week of college spring break or St Patrick's day! I like that it is very near beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olive, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Sites are close together. No privacy. We were next to a street with homes across from us which was okay, but a little weird. Beach is about 5 min. walk if you walk briskly. The pool was not open as it was March. The bath houses are a little rustic. All of the above would be okay except the camping fees were the highest we've ever paid except for in New Orleans! Tybee Island beaches are not dog friendly. You have to pay to park your vehicle everywhere outside the campground. Won't be returning.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuma, Arizona
1 review
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

Tybee Island, one tourist's view point.
I have never commented before on places I've been or campgrounds I've stayed at, however this was probably the worst I've experienced in the 5 years we have been travelling.
We are Snowbirds from Canada and normally winter in Arizona . For a change this year we toured the eastern US. Seaboard as we love being by the ocean when we get a chance we were excited to get a site for a week at the Rivers End RV Park at Tybee Island Georgia over the Thanksgiving holiday, figuring we would enjoy the beach and tour Savannah.
My first bit of advice is to NOT follow your GPS through Savannah on I-80 although it is a Truck Route. Many of the limbs on the old Oak Trees have been allowed to grow to low making a canopy over the road, pretty to look at but,, they will scrape the top of your RV, Satellite Dish, and Roof Air. There should be Height Restrictions posted for this area. Your best route is Harry Truman Parkway although you will still have a few low trees to stress through getting to and from the RV Park, just not as many and this is the only other way to go.
The Rivers End Campground was tight with lots of trees and did not have pull thru's that could accommodate our 40ft coach and enclosed car hauler, our trailer had to be unhooked and left in a undeveloped City Storage Lot and care had to be taken not to get stuck in the soft sandy ground.
We felt as though we were somewhat deceived when we booked our site as we specifically asked about Wi-Fi and were told it was available, however it was down the entire time we were there and I was informed it had been out for some time prior our arrival. When we inquired about it not working we were told " to just keep on trying" even though they knew it was not working.

Our allotted site 139 was very tight but not unreasonable, as we were expecting to be spending our time walking the beach or taking in other attractions, however the low lying trees made it impossible to use a satellite dish, however they did provide good cable TV access.
We were also rather disgusted with the strong smell of cat feces' and urine throughout the park, although it is a Tybee Island problem and not unique to the park as Tybee has Feral Cats absolutely everywhere, and the park could do a better job of discouraging the cats and cleaning up after them…. Tybee obviously has many kind hearted people feeding the cats but no one is picking up after them either. We observed a great deal of garbage along the boardwalks and other accesses to the beach in addition to many of the disposable plates used to feed the cats.
We were also very dismayed to discover that the City Officials in all their wisdom allowed the feral cats to run everywhere but imposed" Very Stiff Penalties" for walking with your dog on the beach. Dogs are not allowed anywhere on any beaches on Tybee Island, we noted postings on the beach indicating it was a Bird Sanctuary and thus the reason dogs were banned. This writer would like to point out that cats stalk and kill birds Not Dogs, Duh!! seems to be a bit of confusion here It is apparent the governing powers are much more taken with the" out of control" cat population than they are towards dogs and their responsible dog loving owners.
We also notice that our closest access to the beach involved walking pass the local Sewage Treatment Facility, for those with a weak stomach you might want to take the longer route, as on the days when this is really bad you can almost taste it when you inhale.
In closing the beaches are beautiful although many warning signs indicate Dangerous Rip Tides and careful not to step on the jelly fish when the tides go out.
The campground is adequate should they ever get the Wi-Fi running, and mean it when they advertise that it is available. And don't expect a Big ole' Southern Welcoming. What we experienced here was far from it, with the exception of Rick the gentleman that parked us.
Also take note in the Welcome pamphlet printed in Bright RED Capital Letters
NO REFUNDS -DON'T ASK. NO EXCEPTIONS.
Until such time as Tybee Island takes firmer measures with their out of control cat situation and officials soften their stance towards dog owners I would not return, nor would I recommend this place to anyone.
We would urge the governing powers to see how other jurisdictions accommodate dog owners as well as non-dog owners with designated use areas and or strict leash laws on beaches during off peak season. All beaches I have been to ppeople have been allowed to bring their dogs. During the peak season, they are allowed early in the morning and late in the afternoon or designated areas. In the off-season, rules are more relaxed, allowing dogs at any time.
Concerns were made that Dog Feces carries disease,
Exposure to any living creature including each other carries the risk of contracting an illness. Any argument that indicates the spread of disease from a dog is inaccurate irresponsible and without solid medical support. Many people in fact sleep with their animals and reported illnesses virtually nonexistent. It is irresponsible of any government official to make damming statements that are unsubstantiated by fact. Should I have a running nose or cough should I be banned from the beach in fear of spreading disease ??
Here is something to consider from Cats.
Bartonellosis
Description: Commonly known as Cat Scratch Disease, bartonellosis is a bacteria carried by fleas that infest cats. Symptoms include swollen lymph nodes, fever, headache, fatigue, and a poor appetite. This bacterial infection is particularly dangerous to immune-suppressed people such as those undergoing treatment for cancer; those with HIV; or organ transplant recipients.

How It's Passed: Most people get CSD through cat bites and scratches.

How To Avoid: The CDC suggest washing cat bites and scratches immediately and controlling fleas.

Toxoplasmosis
Description: Toxoplasmosis is a disease caused by a parasite in cats. Most people who get this do not get very sick (just suffer from some flu-like symptoms), but women who are pregnant (or are thinking of becoming pregnant) need to be careful, as this can affect the fetus.

How It's Passed: The parasite, called Toxoplasma, is not directly passed from the cat to a human, but through cat feces.

Not to mention Rabies…
I travel with a Standard Poodle and consider myself a very responsible pet owner. In all my travels I have never seen a place so unfriendly to dogs
The Snowbird Family, including 1dog and 1cat.
Alberta Canada.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rivers End Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivers End Campground and RV Park

Address: 5 Fort Avenue, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Tybee Island
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
River's End is Tybee Island's only campground. We are 3 blocks to the beach and 16 miles from historic Savannah. We offer campsites for tent campers, RV's and we have cabin rentals. See you under the oaks! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rivers End Campground And Rv Park Hotel Tybee Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rivers End Campground and RV Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.