We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good old school bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nickie's 1971

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Nickie's 1971
1513 Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912-786-4444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 44 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Restaurant details
Cookeville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Good old school bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

Went here after the Savannah marathon for burgers and beer and football. It's a bar with food, and all that goes with that. Smoking, cussing, laughing and pool. Not a family place so don't bring Junior, but if you want a good cold beer, a fine burger and probably the best fried pickles I've ever had, come here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    3
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape Coral, Florida
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Fun place with good drink and music”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stopped in here during the off season for a couple of drinks. The bar had recently been renovated and was filled with mostly locals who were very friendly. Rachel was our bartender and she was an absolute doll. The next thing you know, the locals are buying us drinks, toasting us with shots, and it became one of the friendliest places in town. Loved this place and will be back.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worst pizza, terrible smell”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Please don't throw away your money- buy a frozen pizza at a grocery store - it will be sooooo much better! I was ignored for a while, before i could place an order, i witnessed a server go in the register, take money out and put in her back pocket! Never again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not too shabby...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I must begin by saying I am a frequent visitor to Tybee Island but Nickie's was one of the few places I had not eaten. I always thought about it as just a bar. I was walking down the side walk with a couple of buddies and saw a sign for steaks on the window. I cracked a joke and the cook happened to be outside and we ended up chatting. I relented to his suggestion we try it--out of morbid curiosity if nothing else. A steak in a bar? Well, as it turns out, it was not a bad steak and I was happy with the decision to go there. The steak was by no means a Capital Grille steak but it was cooked appropriate, from a good cut of meat and you could tell the cook actually new quite what he was doing. I was pleasantly surprised by a bar steak. We also got some kind of unique egg rolls. I don't remember what they were off the top of my head but they were very good.

We actually came back the next night for another round of steaks and they were solid once again. We also got the wings which were good. The fried pickles were mediocre.

I was pleasantly surprised by Nickies and will be back. It's not fine dining by any stretch but it is good food, right on the island.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hendersonville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A locals Bar with locals from everywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Kitchen "closes" at 10:00 or when the last hungry person leaves. The Bar stays open until 300am. Both are reasonable in temper and prices. A nice place to end your night or start one.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nickie's 1971 also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Nickie's 1971? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nickie's 1971, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.