We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Atmosphere, Food and Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-J's Dockside Restaurant

A-J's Dockside Restaurant
1315 Chatham Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 9533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 46 Restaurants in Tybee Island
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Davenport, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Atmosphere, Food and Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I went here for Sunday brunch while vacationing in Tybee recently. The weather was rainy, so we weren't able to sit outside on the dock, but the outdoor patio area was nice and had a great atmosphere. Everyone was friendly and the food was great. The service was a little slow, but somedays everyone is just on "Tybee Time." The food was worth the wait and I'd definitely go here again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

659 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    256
    85
    36
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Trussville, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Return trfip this year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I made sure to include this on our visit to Tybee again this year. We were seated after a long wait on a busy Friday. We sat on the docks, watching a rapidly approaching storm. Good food, as was last year, but how does a seafood restaurant run out of oysters on a weekend? It was great for our large party, and our waitress was a bit goofy but reminded us of our kids. Sitting on a picnic table could go either way, as a "what?" or part of the ambiance, for us it became the latter. We will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Fried Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great fried shrimp and great view off the back deck.
Cold beer and relaxed atmosphere, looking forward to going next trip over

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Location, Yummy Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This restaurant had fun atmosphere/location. The live music was good. It was difficult to get a seat, not due to over crowding, but very confused hostess. The food was yum. We'd go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casual Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place had a nice feel to it. It was laid back & easy. Casual cool. The wait staff was nice & gave great ideas for things to do while we were in town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A-J's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to A-J's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-J's Dockside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.