We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trfip this year” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-J's Dockside Restaurant

A-J's Dockside Restaurant
1315 Chatham Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 9533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 48 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Takeout
Trussville, Alabama, United States
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Return trfip this year”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I made sure to include this on our visit to Tybee again this year. We were seated after a long wait on a busy Friday. We sat on the docks, watching a rapidly approaching storm. Good food, as was last year, but how does a seafood restaurant run out of oysters on a weekend? It was great for our large party, and our waitress was a bit goofy but reminded us of our kids. Sitting on a picnic table could go either way, as a "what?" or part of the ambiance, for us it became the latter. We will return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    281
    92
    39
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Fried Shrimp”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Great fried shrimp and great view off the back deck.
Cold beer and relaxed atmosphere, looking forward to going next trip over

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Great Location, Yummy Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This restaurant had fun atmosphere/location. The live music was good. It was difficult to get a seat, not due to over crowding, but very confused hostess. The food was yum. We'd go back.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Casual Cool”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This place had a nice feel to it. It was laid back & easy. Casual cool. The wait staff was nice & gave great ideas for things to do while we were in town.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rice VA
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“OMG!! Good food and views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Excellent food! Expect a wait because things are made from scratch. I've never had a bad meal here and we visit each year while at Tybee. We like to come early evening before things get super busy. This allows us to get a table out of the sun while still enjoying the gorgeous views. Waitresses are pros and keep things moving. The seafood platters are the best!!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A-J's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to A-J's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-J's Dockside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.