We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food. Restaurant could use some upgrading and cleaning.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A-J's Dockside Restaurant

A-J's Dockside Restaurant
1315 Chatham Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 9533
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 44 restaurants in Tybee Island
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Good food. Restaurant could use some upgrading and cleaning.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

The food was really good, but the flies were abundant. The price was what you would expect for a vacation town. The inside seating was way too small and the outside patio area was very hot. The fans they had outside would probably work better If they were every cleaned. Service was better than Fannies on the beach.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    217
    221
    71
    33
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Lots of good fried food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

We sat outside - highly recommend - and our whole family (6) enjoyed our meals. A couple of fried shrimp platters, snow crab legs (awesome), flounder, and key lime pie!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, beautiful view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Food was good, the atmosphere is down to earth and the views are spectacular. Best watermelon margarita! We have been coming to Tybee for three years and AJ's is always on our list!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our food was very good and the location is absolutely breathtaking! Would have given a five but the service was not very good. We sat down right away but waited a very long time to receive our food. Also, it is a bit pricey for what you get.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best watermelon margarita ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Love AJ's!!! The food is awesome and the view is spectacular!!! Lots of fresh seafood and friendly servers. We squeezed in two dinners in only a week!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed A-J's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to A-J's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A-J's Dockside Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.