We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surprisingly expensive” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Shack

Sugar Shack
301 1st Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
(912) 786-4482
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 44 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Land of Skyline, OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“surprisingly expensive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Went with the family to grab ice cream one night. Totally shocked to see that the least expensive ice cream was a soft serve cone for $2.75! Flavored ice cream is $4.25 a scoop.

No real line-flow, hard to order. Won't be stopping back here, what a shame :(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

41% Recommend
    44
    43
    35
    48
    40
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dalton, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“average food-good ice cream”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We walked here for the first meal of our trip.The outside dining area needs to be kept a little cleaner but the inside seemed ok.We ordered 3 realburgers&onion rings.It's cooked to order so you're not just in&out,it takes a little while.I thought it was just average but my family enjoyed it enough to go back the next day for lunch.I tried a banana split from here&it was good.I would like to try out some other restaurants in the area but this one isn't bad.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The Best Ice Cream!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

I loved the ice cream. It was great! The cones are huge, but expensive. Still worth it though. We rode our bikes over there on the bike route. It was a nice leisurly ride.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tn
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Sugar Shack Clean it up!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Old and Smelly. Dirty tables outside, dirtier tables inside. The walls could use a good wipe down as well as all the other surfaces in this place.

Ice cream was old and cone was stale. Would not eat here again.
Felt like I needed a bath after I left this place it was so dirty.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ice cream is super but breakfast a washout”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Had breakfast this morning at the Sugar Shack on Tybee Island. Very affordable, Order taker a little gruff and inpatient. Breakfast sandwich was ok, no biscuits here. Self service coffee they just give you a cup. You order at a counter and then go sit down and they bring you the food. Indoor or outdoor seating. Nothing spectacular to look at except traffic. HOWEVER, came back later that afternoon for ice cream and it was too die for. Banana Pudding ice cream oh my and Almond joy, they even dip the cones if you want. Ice cream yes! Breakfast No!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugar Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Sugar Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.