We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of StingRay's on Tybee

StingRay's on Tybee
14th St & Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 0209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 46 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Richmond, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Local folks told us for great seafood go StingRays. We were not disappointed. Service was good and the fish tacos and Po boy sandwich were excellent. This place is not air conditioned but has cold air and fans spraying in you. It is rather unique. We really enjoyed it. I would highly recommend it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    312
    248
    134
    69
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Smoke Fish Dip a Must! Mahi Sandwich good too!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This place was next to where I was staying and recommended by the Host. I've eaten Smoked Fish dip in many states but never had it served with sweet Vadalia onions and chopped tomatoes, YUM YUM! I'll never eat or serve it any other way! Whoever thought to serve it like that is a GENIUS! The Mahi Mahi Fish sandwich was good and fresh but it would of been better Flame Grilled! Service was good and attentive. Had I been with another person I would of sat outside. They had a misting machine around the deck so it was cool on a hot day. View is not what I would call Scenic, but it is good for people watching. I strolled past the deck at night and they had a man playing guitar on the deck, with a nice crowd. They stop serving food at 10pm and close up which surprised me, during vacation season.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Not too bad but noisy and foam plates?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

This is a very popular place, open late and with live music. The food was good but the presentation aweful. The portions were good but why go cheap and use foam plates to save a few dollars? No beer on tap, really? It's better than some but not as good as others at Tybee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Valley, Georgia
2 reviews
“Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The food here was the best I've had. They had a local band playing outside that was very enjoyable. We did have to wait a while, but we got there pretty late so that was okay. We came in as a group, but had to sit at separate tables. We told them that was okay, but then we were charged an 18% gratutuity tip for being in a group. This was the only bad thing. Despite this, we will defiantly be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cold Fries - Soggy Fish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Called in an order for take out 30 minutes after they opened for lunch in the middle of the week. Ordered a fried fish sandwich with fries. If you don't ask for tartar sauce, mayo, ketchup, etc then you don't get it in the to go box. The fish was cold and soggy, not crispy in the least. It was wrapped in white paper inside the to go box. It had lettuce and tomato on it and the lettuce was not crisp and the tomato was mashed and falling apart. Nothing fresh not even the bread which was completely soggy around the edges. The fries were cold and greasy. It was just nasty. I'm sure the sandwich and fries were made earlier in the morning, maybe expecting a large lunch rush. When I got there to pick up my food there was 6 people in the place. I will never step foot in that place again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed StingRay's on Tybee also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to StingRay's on Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage StingRay's on Tybee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.