We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pup friendly & fun!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of StingRay's on Tybee

StingRay's on Tybee
14th St & Butler Ave, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 0209
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 48 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pup friendly & fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Pup friendly! Our server was excellent! Food was good! We had shrimp, flounder and a crab cake with slaw & hush puppies. Very lite breading, not greasy, slaw & cocktail sauce nice & cold! Hush puppies were perfect! The piña colada was amazing!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

844 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    260
    139
    70
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mediocre”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were told ten minute wait and it was 50 min to sit down because of a kitchen meltdown. The appetizers were served in a timely manner but nothing to write home about. A watery lobster bisque, ok oysters, and oreida fried cheese sticks. The waitress has a hard time putting a smile on her face and they were out of their so called famous blue crab at 4:00 pm which was when we sat down. Out food took forever to get here and people seated around is that we seated way after us had already finished their meals. Not impressed...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food Just Ok - Abysmal Service!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Reading the glowing reviews, I'm starting to wonder if I ate at a Stingrays in some alternate universe. My family and my experience was utterly terrible. Yes - the food was just ok. Best seafood? Hardly. The wait was long for average - and not cheap. The service? Where do I begin. Maybe our waitress was having a bad day - but I can guarantee that neither my family nor I forced her to work that day. Yet, that's how she made us feel. When she wasn't yawning, she was glaring at us or avoiding us. Awful - and other tables weren't getting better treatment from her. It wasn't just her. The teenage host looked bored, and the other waitresses could barely stop their chattering to allow us some room to get around them when trying to get seated. Don't get me wrong - we loved Tybee and thoroughly enjoyed our vacation there. I can not recommend this restaurant at all - there are other, better places to try.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great spot for lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I had the grilled tuna special and it was very tasty. It was a very hot day so the mist on the front porch was a good benefit. The wait staff were attentive and food was prepared very timely. Prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The bacon wrapped scallops were delicious. First visit was takeout and low country boil was really good. Bartender was very helpful with my order. Next visit we ate at restaurant and service was really slow. Fried shrimp was so good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed StingRay's on Tybee also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to StingRay's on Tybee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage StingRay's on Tybee, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.