We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and you can walk to it from the beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spanky's Beachside

Spanky's Beachside
1605 Strand St, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912 786 5520
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 44 restaurants in Tybee Island
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Grosse Pointe Woods, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good food and you can walk to it from the beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Good place to eat when your belly calls you in from the beach. I had the Grouper basket with fries and the waitress even brought me some cheese sauce to dip my fries in. The dish was good. My husband had a quesadilla and also thought it was very good! Their sweet tea is delish and it's a nice place to unwind for a bit while grabbing a bite to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

63% Recommend
    65
    61
    39
    10
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wappingers Falls, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Poor service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

The service here was very slow. It took a few minutes for the hostess to even notice we were there, then the waitress took her time taking our order. It finally showed up, and my medium-rare burger was closer to medium-well. We asked for another drink, and it never showed up. Really, how hard would it have been for the waitress to drag herself away from chatting with her friends at the back of the bar to bring another diet Coke? We felt like we were keeping her from doing something more important, and left quite unhappy with our whole experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pooler, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Night of the Full Moon”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

New to Tybee and just want to sit and relax? Go to Spanky's beachside and sit upstairs.
If a waitress/waiter is not working the upstairs, just place a food and drink order at the bar and they'll bring it up. Upstairs is pretty cool because it overlooks the beach and it's an awesome place to watch the moon rise over the ocean while having a few drinks.
Best RumRunner in all of Georgia. As simple as it is, the Grooper Finger Basket with spuds is a good meal in itself. Served fried or blackened. We reccommend fried. Last nights full moon was hindered by clouds, but we're not holding Spanky's responsible. The waitstaff there were awesome and never complain about having to go up and down the stairs. Good Job Spanky's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great near beach find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We stopped in based on a tripadvisor review and we were very satisfied. The Scallops are to die for and the portions are generous. Our server, Megan was knowledgeable and oh so helpful. If your at the beach in the downtown / boardwalk area this place is a must visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennesse
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Wow we at here the food was so good I love it and we had a great time just sitting and talking and close to the beach we love everything nothing we disliked it was clean and cool in side like we like will be back...

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spanky's Beachside also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Spanky's Beachside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spanky's Beachside, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.