We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere, good seafood” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
40 Estill Hammock Road, Tybee Island, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9702
912-786-9857
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 48 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Elizabethton, Tennessee, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Good atmosphere, good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

There are lots of places to take pictures so bring a camera. We chose to sit outside on the patio, but they also have indoor seating. My daughter and husband loved the crab legs. My husband also loved the boiled shrimp. I got the barbecue chicken, but there wasn't any barbecue sauce on the chicken. You had to add your own and they only had a mustard based BBQ sauce. Otherwise, the chicken was ok. The corn is delicious. There are cats that roam around on the patio (which didn't bother us, but could be an issue for some folks). Casual dining.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,064 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    834
    627
    306
    133
    164
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Titusville, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“So good we went back the next day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We had the platter and it was a lot of food, all freshly steamed. We chose to eat outside and it was a little chilly so our waitress lit a heater so we'd be comfortable. The service was great. It was so good we went back the next day for lunch. If you don't like seafood the choices are limited and nothing is fried.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst service a food ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

Took a visiting family to eat here because we had heard good things about it. The restaurant surroundings are nice, but when it came to the menu, service and food it was below a 1 rating. After everyone got their food well everyone except my wife we ask the waitress to see what was going on. 55 minutes later still no food. I ask 3 times to speak with a manager with no luck. Finally found 3 waitresses laughing and confronted them demanding to speak with a manager. Had to go into a shut off area where I finally found manager. She was extremely rude and thought it was funny my wife waited over an hour after our dinner was served and still did not have food. Will never go back and will tell the world what a horrible place and experience this was.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good food but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The food is good but the atmosphere is circus like and the sand gnats are a real problem. We won't be going back but it is entertaining and I think kids would really enjoy all the extras.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beavercreek, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Casual Delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

"Where the elite eat in their bare feet"
This description is exactly what the Crab Shack is.
Nothing fried on this menu, so that may be something to consider when choosing a restaurant.
But, if you love steamed shrimp, crab legs and crawfish - corn on the cob/sausage, potatoes, onions. This is a fabulous low country boil laid out on one big platter, in the middle of the table - Family Style. Can't be beat.
Love this place and have been here several times when visiting Tybee Island/ Savannah, GA

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.