We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's called a shack for a reason” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
40 Estill Hammock Road, Tybee Island, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9702
912-786-9857
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“It's called a shack for a reason”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

OK, first things first: This is not four-star dining. What the Crab Shack is is a fun place to sit along the water, drink a few cold beers, and enjoy some seafood. And, yes, it is served on paper plates, and yes, you will see cats milling around, which I think adds to the place's charm. Keep in mind, too, that options are limited, especially for meat lovers. If, however, you're craving seafood, give this place a chance. I would recommend going for the seafood sampler, which comes with crab legs, boiled shrimp, crawfish, mussels, sausage, potatoes, and the best corn on the cob ever. (Skip the potatoes and ask for extra corn -- you'll be glad you did.) The two-person sampler runs around $40 and is enough to feed four. This is the best deal on the menu. Also, the service here is friendly and fast -- not what you would expect at your typical tourist attraction.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,068
    789
    389
    166
    195
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Where's the health dept?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

We have been here several times over the last 15 years and it has expanded into a major roadside attraction. But with that being said, this place is disgusting. There are cats running around everywhere. The bathrooms are disgusting. The menus are covered in shmootz. The food is not very good, and way over priced. Everything on the table has a nasty coating if stuff on them from other people's dirty hands. They have a pickup truck right in front full of garbage always. It stinks. And the gift shop smells like cat pee. Overall a place we will not be revisiting which is a shame. Because it used to be a great place. The only positive are the servers. They are friendly and always on top of it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Unique restaurant tucked in residential neighborhood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I had read about the Crab Shack on Tybee Island outside of Savannah, GA but did not see it when driving around popular area of the island. On the way off the island we spotted their sign and decided to check it out. It is a large shack-like place with several smaller buildings around including the cat shack and a parrot/macaw rescue inside the gift shop.

It was a little confusing trying to find out where to go to get a table- it was outside in an area where there are probably a lot of people waiting during peak season.
It is very casual with mostly large round tables that have napkins and a trash container in the middle of them to dispose of shrimp tails, corn cobs, etc.

My young teen son and I shared a shrimp boil plate. He had never eaten shrimp with legs and tail intact so it was a new experience for him. Outside the seating area visitors can view numerous 3-5 foot alligators in an enclosure.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Cats, cats, cats, cats”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

If you like dining with cats, then this is the place for you. At first we were intrigued by the layout of the space. Seemed like eating on the bayou, so we selected a place to eat outside. Very nice view until the Aristocrats and friends came out of the woods to enjoy our dinner. The food was so-so. I felt like I was eating at a back yard crab boil. You dump your trash at the table and the service was sub par. To be fair, they did offer indoor seating which they should have suggested to avoid the cats. The water tasted like they got it straight from the coast and our beer was served warm. The soup tasted like Campbell's finest. Way over priced for what they were serving. I was not impressed, went straight to the hotel and took a shower afterwards.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun dining highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Great little spot for fun and food. It is a great place to sit outside on the water under a tree and relax with some good food! I had the deviled crab lunch special and steamed oysters. Both were delicious. My kids enjoyed feeding the alligators and visiting the birds after we ate. It was like lunch and an attraction all in one:) Highly recommend this casual, island restaurant.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.