We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique atmosphere, friendly service ok food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
40 Estill Hammock Road, Tybee Island, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9702
912-786-9857
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 46 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Late Night, Dessert
Indiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique atmosphere, friendly service ok food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

Food was good but pricey but not too pricey by Savannah standards. Son ordered low country boil and loved it. I ordered stuffed crab and 1/4lb shrimp mine was ok( yes I would rather have my shrimp fried). Wife ordered 1/2 shrimp she would rather have had fried too but shrimp was good. Would go here again!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    814
    620
    301
    132
    161
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“great and fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Casual and huge. Crab stew was fantastic. Live birds and alligators to keep the kids interested. Outside eating under the trees and in the breeze.(don't worry--they have a wash station among the tables so you won't forget). Very good service and descriptions and recommendations were accurate. Hear they are really busy Saturday nights.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best Place in Savannah area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

This was one place I wanted to go while planning our vacation. It was so good.
We had the captains sampler and it was so good. Both my husband and I were able to split this and it was only $40. All kinda of sea food. Would go back on a heartbeat. However it is right on the water so it does smell like a river. But that's how you get fresh seafood so we were okay with it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eat here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Just go ahead and eat here. The shack specialty for two fed three of us no problem. As far as the ambience, well, you just need to go ahead and see it for yourself. Never seen such efficient use of bushel baskets in a restaurant.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Georgia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very, Very good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Heard great things about this place, so was pleasantly surprised that they were all true!
Got to sit outside, at one of the tables, and was surprised by the fast and attentive service!
Food came hot, and quick. Server was very pleasant and courteous. She recommended some sites on the island to see( which I took note of). All, in all it was a very, very good meal. I will be back!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.