We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad, not great..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
40 Estill Hammock Road, Tybee Island, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9702
912-786-9857
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not bad, not great..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Everything's steamed or broiled, nothing fried. Been twice, service was about the same. Friendly, but a little slow. They have a little alligator pond that's pretty cool. Decent seafood, but if you want more for what you pay, go somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    891
    680
    332
    142
    176
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Like Seafood?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

WOW, where to begin. It's about 25 minutes away from River Street but we found it was well worth the drive, and from the crowd there, we weren't the only ones who thought so. They have gators and birds and cats. great place. PLATTERS of seafood. Ours had everything but oysters, but they have them too of course. Laid back atmosphere, sinks strategically located throughout. Great food, great times and great atmosphere.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fun, funky spot with good food, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Crab Shack came highly recommended, so we had to check it out. The out of the way location was unexpected but nice and the open, "shack" feel was enjoyable, too. We visited the alligator lagoon first which was a nice touch. We came for lunch on a weekday so it wasn't super busy, but still a nice crowd. The outdoor seating is nice and rustic with holes cut in the center of the tables and trash cans underneath to dispose of shells and such, which was a great idea! We shared a dish called "Half and Half" which consisted of a half pound of crab legs and a half pound of shrimp, one corn on the cob. We ordered a side of smashed taters and slaw to go along with it. The shrimp and crab were both delicious! Definitely worth the super messy hands (which were ok - there is a hand washing station!) This place was casual and nice. Rather pricey, but not so bad if you're splitting the check. Saw people ordering platters of the low country boil and it is definitely a lot of food! They had great sweet tea to complete the meal of southern seafood. Being a cat person, I was also thrilled at the Cat Shack and saw about 8 of the resident kitties, most of which were pretty friendly (especially if you shared a little crab)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I went here for dinner 5/11/13. They don't have a lot to choose from on their menu, that was a huge turn off for me. I had the steamed shrimps, they were bland, crab legs,they were good, sausage, it was good, and potatoes, they were good. I wanted a variety of seafood being that I was on the beach. I was thinking it was going to be really great seafood and it just wasn’t that for me. I wish they would had more seafood on their menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

My family ate here for lunch while visiting Savannah. It was a beautiful day so we sat outside on the deck, very relaxing and enjoyable. Our server, Edward T., was very good and offered us suggestions for our food and drinks. The food and drinks were delicious, although it was pricey for the amount of food. The alligators outside were cool. The entire family really enjoyed our lunch. We will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.