We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best. Seafood. EVER” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Crab Shack

The Crab Shack
40 Estill Hammock Road, Tybee Island, Tybee Island, GA 31328-9702
912-786-9857
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 48 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Summerville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best. Seafood. EVER”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

I ate at this restaurant in 2007 and have dreamed about it ever since. I have even called to see if they can somehow ship their seafood platter to me. Sadly, they cannot. When my family and I decided to return to Tybee Island for our 2013 vacation, this restaurant is on the "short list" of places to go. You will not be disappointed. Please note: Trip Advisor requires you to say when you visited a place in order to write a review. My first visit was August of 2007 and my next visit will be September 2013.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    890
    678
    330
    142
    176
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Loveeee this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went with a group of 30 people and it was awesome! The seafood was soooo fresh! I wish they had one of these in my area!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Laurel, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must go...inside!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Fantastic food, and worth the ride from Savannah, but do yourself a favor and choose the indoor seating option. My fiance and I went for an evening dinner and I was attacked by sand gnats, constantly. It ruined the experience and the ambiance, as it would have been great if it wasn't for this issue. I was told by staff they are not always out but don't take the chance. To top if off their bites itch for days after!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Worth the wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were on our way to another restaurant and missed out turn, so glad we did. The parking lot to this place is a challenge. Do not let that stop you. The wait will be long do not let that stop you. The food is worth it, the fact that you are on the "water", and in such a laid back soroundings is fantastic. It is very interactive, cat reserve, gator fishing, and gift shop. If you are looking for fine dining keep looking.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thomas, West Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Terrible....will never go back.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The only good thing I can say about our visit is that we had a really sweet and attentive waitress. The place is filthy and the food is terrible. We ordered the captains special platter. Very bland and way over-cooked. Come on...do our planet a favor and buy some real dishes. Everything served in/on styrofoam? Really?! You could at least buy some compostable paper plates and cups. Shame on you Crab Shack! Can't imagine the amount of trash you are putting in the landfill:(
There is also something really sad and strange with all of the caged birds and alligators. Not something I want to see when I am at a restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Crab Shack also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to The Crab Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Crab Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.