We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonus Lighthouse View from Fort Pulaski” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cockspur lighthouse

Cockspur lighthouse
Intercostal waterway, Tybee Island, GA
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 10 Attractions in Tybee Island
Type: Landmarks
Attraction details
Mooresville, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Bonus Lighthouse View from Fort Pulaski”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

As a lighthouse lover, I was determined to get a closer view of Cockspur Lighthouse than I was afforded from Hwy 80. The ladies in the gift shop at Tybee Light Station told me it was accessible only by boat or kayak, and that wasn't going to work into our plans, so when they also said one could get a bit of a view from a trail at Fort Pulaski, we were excited because we had planned to visit there anyway. It was a very hot day and the trail was a little long, and unpaved, but we weren't bitten by insects and were rewarded with a nice view of the lighthouse. It would be especially nice to have visited earlier in the summer because their was a field of wildflowers past bloom that were in front of the lighthouse and doubtless would have been a pretty sight to see when in bloom.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's very interesting and a beautiful place to take sunset photos so I'm sure just as pretty for sunrise photos. Saw it while on a dolphin tour. Would have loved to go inside. Everyone needs to go see it!!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Inn, South Carolina
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting with Insects”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Depending on where you drop in your kayak, it can be quite a distance to get there. It really is a beautiful piece of history!!! Lovely views from the top. Don't know what they were (not cockroaches, but crustacean-like bugs) were scurrying around inside. They didn't bother anyone, though... just a strange aspect of the adventure.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“awsome little light house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Cool little light house when tide is low can take Kayak tour out and go up inside. great picture spot

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Neat side attraction”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We rented kayaks to paddle around and went right up to it at high tide. It was tricky getting into the lighthouse, waves smack the kayaks against the stairs. Wouldn't want to fall in the water or you'd get messed up with the sharp rocks/ barnacles under the water and the waves. It was small and old but a cool little adventure. The stairs to the top were steep, narrow, ladder-like. Some steps were loose or crumbly. It was fun and neat to see but probably a bit hazardous. Nice place to break in the shade inside. Nice breeze at the top.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cockspur lighthouse also viewed

 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to Cockspur lighthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cockspur lighthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.