We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“surf and turf burger” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TYB Grill

TYB Grill
402 First Street, Tybee Island, GA 31328
912-472-4018
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #3 of 42 restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Description: 2 4 1 MARGARITAS FOR ST PATTIES WEEK. The perfect place for relaxation, freedom to be oneself and to enjoy the pleasures of life. One pleasure being....as one man, once said...“There is no love sincerer than the love of food.” ― George Bernard Shaw, Man and SupermanAt TYB Grill, our own personal love of food especially shows in the quality of our products. We not only use and avidly support our local providers but additionally hand make, select and prepare all of our ingredients at only the highest standards.TYB Grill utilizes the following in everyday service:-"Fresh Catch" Local Tybee/Savannah Seafood- USDA PRIME Beef -Farm Fresh Vegetables - In-House Dessert Specials*Substitutions or Alterations to accommodate dietary needs are acknowledged.TYB Grill's mission is to answer the commonly known question "Where do locals eat"? Our "Tybeeites" are the heartbeat and heritage of Tybee as well as the Connoisseurs of the Island palate. TYB Grill will continuously strive to exceed the tastes and trends of all preferences
Fayetteville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“surf and turf burger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Great martini, delicious sandwich, excellent service,
My burger had fried spinach, cheese and shrimp. cooked to perfection. I love martini's and the lemon drop was very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Linda,

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your dining experience with us and greatly appreciate your review. Looking forward to your next visit!

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    46
    20
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helen, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best place in Tybee!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We've been on Tybee for a week, and after a few days of trekking back to Savannah due to overpriced, mediocre food on the island, we decided to stay close for dinner tonight. This place wasn't too much to look at and kind of empty (due to PriateFest I presume), so we almost passed it up. I am so glad we didn't! Our waitress, Karie, was fantastic!!!! She seemed to be a genuinely happy person and stayed optimistic after hearing our fear of average island food. We ordered the chicken finger baguette with black beans and the TYB burger with green beans and stuck around for the sundae dessert. The chicken fingers looked overcooked to add to my skeptisism, but oh my were they perfect! They weren't the flat frozen kind, but thick and seasoned and breaded wonderfully. The black beans were not your average boring black beans either. My husband usually offers a taste of his food but didn't give me the chance so I assume his burger was good too. Karie gave the perfect amount of attention and even helped us figure out PirateFest events, in an attempt to help us like Tybee more. I doubt Tybee will be our favorite vacation spot, but TYB Grill was definately our favorite place to eat while here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Mrs. Newman,

Our thanks for your detailed review on your dining experience with us. We are so glad that you chose TYB Grill during your visit to Tybee and that we were able to make it enjoyable. Looking forward to your next visit when you are back in the area.

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“don't let the outside fool you, great fish awaits you inside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

our waitress was fun, quick and helpful. the food fare is simple, and the prices are low.
wish they had either place mats or table clothes as the tables were a bit tacky (humidity and all).

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank your for your review and helpful comments that allow us to ensure a pleasant dining experience for all future customers. We look forward to your next visit.

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“LOVE this Place! Excellent Food & Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We enjoyed a week's vacation at Tybee Island with our family, and dined at the TYB Grill twice during that time because we liked it so much--the owners, the waitstaff, the service and the food. The Salad presentation was very fun & unique, in a chilled Margarita glass. The Garlic Pommes Frites are excellent starters [french fries w/EVOO, garlic, parmesan cheese & parsley]. We were impressed with all the Entrees we tried: the TYB Burger, the Surf & Turf Burger, the Veggie Black Bean Burger, the Georgia Shrimp Platter and the Southwest Chicken Quesadilla. They have several specialty Martinis on the menu. The Blue Cheese Stuffed Olive Martini was amazing--by far my favorite, and the Pomegranate is also very good. My 20-something picky eater daughter said after the meal... "The only thing that could make this any better is Cheesecake." And they brought out the best New York Cheesecake! We plan to come back as soon as we can.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you greatly for your detailed review. We had so much fun having you dine with us...not once, but twice! Anticipating your family's next visit!

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food! Friendly service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Love the burgers! The staff was so friendly and helpful. We felt like we were the only ones there! Will definitely go back next time we're in town!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, March 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your experience. Looking forward to serving you again soon!

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TYB Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to TYB Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TYB Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.