We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all around” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TYB Grill

TYB Grill
402 First Street, Tybee Island, GA 31328
+1 912-472-4018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 44 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Description: 2 4 1 MARGARITAS AND MORE. The perfect place for relaxation, freedom to be oneself and to enjoy the pleasures of life. One pleasure being....as one man, once said..."There is no love sincerer than the love of food." - George Bernard Shaw, Our personal love of food shows in the quality of our products. We not only use and avidly support our local providers but additionally hand make, select and prepare all of our ingredients at only the highest standards. TYB Grill utilizes the following in everyday service Local Tybee/Savannah Seafood- USDA PRIME Beef -Farm Fresh Vegetables - In-House Dessert Specials*Substitutions or Alterations to accommodate dietary needs are acknowledged.TYB Grill's mission is to answer the commonly known question "Where do locals eat"? Our "Tybeeites" are the heartbeat and heritage of Tybee as well as the Connoisseurs of the Island palate. TYB Grill will continuously strive to exceed the tastes and trends of all preferences
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent all around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Our group of 13 , looking for a good meal on Tybee Island decided to give TYB Grill a call. We were told that they could accommodate us and decided to give it a try. Great choice! We were greeted by the owner and seated immediately. Orders taken and delivered accurately and everyone associated with the restaurant couldn't have been more pleasant. The food is fresh, cooked to perfection and abundant. One of the best restaurants new or old on the island. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
It was an absolute pleasure having you and your group with us the other night! We are thrilled to have had the opportunity to serve your large party and to have you liven up TYB Grill! Looking forward to holding a spot on your annual visit and celebrating your arrival! Thank you for testing us out and posting your fabulous review!

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    37
    13
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

After seeing the reviews on tripadvisor, we thought we'd check it out. We were not disappointed. The American Burger with cheese was seasoned well and quite large (in fact, we split it). We also tried the garlic fries appetizer, as suggested by a fellow diner, and enjoyed the flavorful potatoes as our side dish. The servers were friendly and helpful. So far it's been our best food of the trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are so happy to see your review and your appreciation for what we love! Thank you for stopping by and trying us out! Your review is one of our driving forces for success, so our biggest thanks! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family decided to give this relatively new place a shot. We were seated immediately (Sat 6:00pm) and ordered the calamari appetizer which was very good. My wife loved the black bean burger, the guys loved their traditional burgers. However, the shrimp po' boys were on the skimpy side. The shrimp were small and there should have been more of them. The bread was home made and delicious, but i prefer mine grilled and loaded with sauce! I had a great talk with the owner, James, and he seemed to appreciate the feedback - and took good care of us. Thanks James.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Scott,

James and I appreciate your review and comments...and James looks forward to catching that beer with you eventually! We truly apologize about the shortage (appearance) of the shrimp po' boy as we've strictly trained our staff on a set number to provide with each menu item to ensure consistency. However, with this said and with the awareness made by you and another advocate of TYB Grill we are ensuring proper adjustments when the local shrimp vary in smaller size. Also, our appreciation for allowing us the opportunity to serve you better and for your patience with our new hires. Its our intent to provide the best and most attentive service with each visit. Anticipating your next visit and seeing/meeting you soon!

All the best.

TYB Grill

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tybees newest addition, TYB grill, was the best place on this island to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Food was second to none. Absolutely amazing!! We tried different restaurants on the island and TYB grill was by far the BEST. Not just the food though, service was great. It's nice to go on vacation and be served by happy, outgoing, and attentive people. We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your kind review and noticing our heartfelt efforts for the industry! We are grateful for customers like you that make it all worthwhile! Looking forward to your next arrival!

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“TYB Grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited TYB Grill on a Monday around 6. There were no customers but the quiet was nice. We started with the Chicken Quesdilla as an appetizer. It was very good and a pretty good portion. My boyfriend got the bacon cheeseburger and fries and I got the fried shrimp platter. The cheeseburger was cooked perfectly and you could tell it was made with quality meat. My shrimp were served on a bed of shredded lettuce and tasted like they had been splashed with lemon juice. They were average size shrimp but definatly were'nt worth $17. The fries were just so-so needed salt or some sort of seasoning. By the time we left a few more people had showed up. Maybe this was sort of an off night but maybe some of the other options had bigger portions. It has a sort of tex-mex feel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your visit and your review. Due to the following of the 4th of July rush on Tybee, things begin to calm down and Mondays are a bit unpredictable with the weather and following a holiday. Please do take in consideration that we close to reaching our 2 month anniversary of being open and still motivated in getting our name out. We sincerely apologize about your disappointment of size on your shrimp platter. Due to the nature of using local GA fresh shrimp, sizes can vary with the weather and fishing conditions. However, it is our goal to ensure a proper presentation and amount for your visit. So, we do appreciate your comments. We will never, ever let anyone leave our restaurant unhappy if we are made aware. Also with being fresh in the community we sincerely welcome any and all feedbacks so that we may adjust accordingly to ensure the best service and product. We do hope to see you again and with your feedback in tow for providing better experiences all around. Thanks again!

All the Best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TYB Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to TYB Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TYB Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.