We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Burger!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of TYB Grill

TYB Grill
402 First Street, Tybee Island, GA 31328
+1 912-472-4018
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 44 Restaurants in Tybee Island
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Description: 2 4 1 MARGARITAS AND MORE. The perfect place for relaxation, freedom to be oneself and to enjoy the pleasures of life. One pleasure being....as one man, once said..."There is no love sincerer than the love of food." - George Bernard Shaw, Our personal love of food shows in the quality of our products. We not only use and avidly support our local providers but additionally hand make, select and prepare all of our ingredients at only the highest standards. TYB Grill utilizes the following in everyday service Local Tybee/Savannah Seafood- USDA PRIME Beef -Farm Fresh Vegetables - In-House Dessert Specials*Substitutions or Alterations to accommodate dietary needs are acknowledged.TYB Grill's mission is to answer the commonly known question "Where do locals eat"? Our "Tybeeites" are the heartbeat and heritage of Tybee as well as the Connoisseurs of the Island palate. TYB Grill will continuously strive to exceed the tastes and trends of all preferences
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Burger!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

After seeing the reviews on tripadvisor, we thought we'd check it out. We were not disappointed. The American Burger with cheese was seasoned well and quite large (in fact, we split it). We also tried the garlic fries appetizer, as suggested by a fellow diner, and enjoyed the flavorful potatoes as our side dish. The servers were friendly and helpful. So far it's been our best food of the trip!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We are so happy to see your review and your appreciation for what we love! Thank you for stopping by and trying us out! Your review is one of our driving forces for success, so our biggest thanks! Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    73
    36
    12
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Burgers”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family decided to give this relatively new place a shot. We were seated immediately (Sat 6:00pm) and ordered the calamari appetizer which was very good. My wife loved the black bean burger, the guys loved their traditional burgers. However, the shrimp po' boys were on the skimpy side. The shrimp were small and there should have been more of them. The bread was home made and delicious, but i prefer mine grilled and loaded with sauce! I had a great talk with the owner, James, and he seemed to appreciate the feedback - and took good care of us. Thanks James.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Scott,

James and I appreciate your review and comments...and James looks forward to catching that beer with you eventually! We truly apologize about the shortage (appearance) of the shrimp po' boy as we've strictly trained our staff on a set number to provide with each menu item to ensure consistency. However, with this said and with the awareness made by you and another advocate of TYB Grill we are ensuring proper adjustments when the local shrimp vary in smaller size. Also, our appreciation for allowing us the opportunity to serve you better and for your patience with our new hires. Its our intent to provide the best and most attentive service with each visit. Anticipating your next visit and seeing/meeting you soon!

All the best.

TYB Grill

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Tybees newest addition, TYB grill, was the best place on this island to eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Food was second to none. Absolutely amazing!! We tried different restaurants on the island and TYB grill was by far the BEST. Not just the food though, service was great. It's nice to go on vacation and be served by happy, outgoing, and attentive people. We'll be back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you sincerely for your kind review and noticing our heartfelt efforts for the industry! We are grateful for customers like you that make it all worthwhile! Looking forward to your next arrival!

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“TYB Grill”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We visited TYB Grill on a Monday around 6. There were no customers but the quiet was nice. We started with the Chicken Quesdilla as an appetizer. It was very good and a pretty good portion. My boyfriend got the bacon cheeseburger and fries and I got the fried shrimp platter. The cheeseburger was cooked perfectly and you could tell it was made with quality meat. My shrimp were served on a bed of shredded lettuce and tasted like they had been splashed with lemon juice. They were average size shrimp but definatly were'nt worth $17. The fries were just so-so needed salt or some sort of seasoning. By the time we left a few more people had showed up. Maybe this was sort of an off night but maybe some of the other options had bigger portions. It has a sort of tex-mex feel.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
We appreciate your visit and your review. Due to the following of the 4th of July rush on Tybee, things begin to calm down and Mondays are a bit unpredictable with the weather and following a holiday. Please do take in consideration that we close to reaching our 2 month anniversary of being open and still motivated in getting our name out. We sincerely apologize about your disappointment of size on your shrimp platter. Due to the nature of using local GA fresh shrimp, sizes can vary with the weather and fishing conditions. However, it is our goal to ensure a proper presentation and amount for your visit. So, we do appreciate your comments. We will never, ever let anyone leave our restaurant unhappy if we are made aware. Also with being fresh in the community we sincerely welcome any and all feedbacks so that we may adjust accordingly to ensure the best service and product. We do hope to see you again and with your feedback in tow for providing better experiences all around. Thanks again!

All the Best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
“Tybbe time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Excellent new restaurant. We happened upon it when staying on Tybee at the Desoto Beach hotel for a long weekend. We ate lunch and the burger was very good, lasagna outstanding. It was different, made with broken pieces, cheeses and light meat sauce. Service was very friendly and timely. The salad was a nice presentation in an ice cream type cup on a pedestal.
Definitely going back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tybgrill, Owner at TYB Grill, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your review and your time to post! We appreciate your feedback and your business! We are so glad that you joined us during our first opening months and enjoyed your experience. Looking forward to seeing you again soon!

All the best,

TYB Grill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TYB Grill also viewed

Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
Tybee Island, Georgia Coast
 

Been to TYB Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TYB Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.