We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but not actually the only beach hotel on Tybee.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Desoto Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desoto Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Desoto Beach Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
25% off room rate
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice, but not actually the only beach hotel on Tybee.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We chose to stay at the Desoto Beach Hotel because we wanted to thoroughly enjoy the beach and it claims to be the only hotel on the beach. This may be true due to some unknown technicality, but there are several other hotels right down the street that are just as close to the beach. Other than not being the only beachfront hotel, it's a nice enough place - clean and comfortable.

The breakfast is very basic: bread, pastries, yoghurt and cereal. Our room had a porch with several rocking chairs. Although there was a parking lot between the room and the beach, it was pleasant to sit outside and listen to the waves (and the great thunder storm that blew in during out stay).

Overall, it's a nice hotel, but next time I'm on Tybee Island I will stay somewhere more economical, since the facility did not justify the price.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeSotoBeachManager, Manager at Desoto Beach Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank You for your comments, however we are Tybee's ONLY ocean front hotel, we are the only Hotel that you can walk straight onto the beach. we do obviously have different view rooms such as Ocean Front, and Ocean View, the other Hotels on the island you will find are only Ocean View. Thank You again for your comments and we are sorry that you where not happy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    110
    69
    37
    37
See reviews for
112
144
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lexington
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

After reading the reviews on Tripadvisor of the Tybee Island Hotel options, I was convinced I had booked a nice room in a nice, although not luxurious, beachfront hotel. The website photos of the grand king oceanfront rooms-the best and most expensive they have to offer-do not in any way resemble the actual room. For $200/night I expected much better. The funishings and bedding were very cheap. The oceanfront balcony was just large enough for the two chairs and tiny table. The mattress was very hard and the air conditioner quit working the second night. I called the front desk about 9:00 the second night to ask if the pool would be closed at a specific time because there were very loud, obnoxious people in it who kept shouting up to someone on the balcony near our door (our room was next to the pool three floors uo). The desk clerk was a unprofessional young black woman who was distracted and giggling during my inquiry. We decided to check out a day early and drove to Daytona Beach where for $125/night we got a very nice king room with an ocean view balcony at the Hampton Inn Beachfront Hotel. A very pleasant and professional young black man checked us in after first showing us the available room to see if we liked it. So if you are used to getting something nice for $200/night, don't stay here.

Room Tip: Since ours was the best they had to offer, my tip is to stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The Desoto Terrace properties are perfectly simple with several of the comforts of home. We stayed in the first floor property designed like a small studio apartment - including a king bed, pull out couch, small but complete kitchen (no dishwasher), washer and dryer, large dining table, and one bathroom. The kitchen also includes many dishes, glasses, cutlery and some pots and pans.

Staff were very friendly and the property was clean and well kept. As a guest of the Terrace properties, you have your own parking space and access to all the hotel amenities as well. The properties even have onsite recycling!

Best of all, are the large front porch and location. You are just steps away from the beach, and although the porch view of the beach is obstructed, you can enjoy the breeze, sounds of the waves, and the several rocking chairs and a hammock.

Room Tip: Hands down, I would suggest any of the DesotoTerrace Properties, especially those on the 2nd and 3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

We asked for an ocean view and loved it!! We found everyone to be nice there but we also had some trouble with the housekeeping not vacuuming. I also thought the room doors needed to be cleaned and the bathroom door and woodwork were dirty. The bedding could be updated for sure and the game area glass windows were awful!! Didn't use the pool, breakfast was okay, parking very tight. Overall, a pretty nice stay, but what we really paid for was the view, beach access, and balcony.

Room Tip: Ocean front for sure!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were looking for a hotel in Cocoa Beach when we were visiting the Kennedy Space Center. This hotel is wonderful, the staff is excellent and very helpful. Accommodations very good, we had an ocean front room and it was great.

Thank you for a wonderful time at your hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clyde, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were very impressed with the cleanliness of our hotel room and of the entire hotel as a whole. We had a room with an ocean view which we would highly recommend. It was the perfect place to sit in the morning and watch the dolphins swim by. We went in early May and there were quite a few jellyfish washed up on the beach. It wasn't a big deal for us because we didn't go swimming out in the water but I would be concerned if I had small children swimming out there. This hotel is quite a way down the beach from the main public beach which worked for us. Walking down the beach was the perfect way to get some sun without laying there roasting. Most of the shops had the exact same tourist stuff so you could go to the store across the street from the hotel and see everything you would see if you went all the way downtown. At first we thought there weren't enough restaurants and bars on this end of the strip but after exploring we realized there were actually quite a few. We ate a Macalwees which was good but if you keep walking there are several nice places right after that.

Room Tip: Get an ocean room view with a balcony. Worth the extra money because you can sit and watch the beac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Went for a quick weekend trip with me and my 3 daughters. Staff was excellent, beach was beautiful, chairs and umbrellas were resonabily prices and comfortable for a day of lounging on the beach. Rooms were nice and comfortable. Already planning our next visit. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Noting but good things to say about our experience. Visit the CRAB SHACK while you are in town. Super atmosphere and great crab legs!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desoto Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desoto Beach Hotel

Address: 212 Butler Ave., PO Box 1398, Tybee Island, GA 31328
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Georgia > Georgia Coast > Tybee Island
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Tybee Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desoto Beach Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only oceanfront hotel on Tybee Island. Direct beach access with oceanfront pool sundeck and game room. Free continental breakfast and WIFI. Voted best place to stay 2008-2010. Beautifully re-modeled rooms and new carpet throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Desoto Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desoto Beach Tybee Island
Hotel Desoto Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desoto Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.